Joan Torres's All Is Fused: Revolution

Paul Naser By

Sign in to view read count
Track review of "Finale"

Joan Torres's All Is Fused: Revolution
Amidst the chaos that is the year 2020, Joan Torres's All Is Fused has found the time to release an alt take of the closer from their 2019 album, Revolution (Self Produced). The new version of "Finale" is a collaboration with bass virtuoso Bubby Lewis. Of the collaboration, Torres says: "I wanted someone who was a bit of a kindred spirit in this musical journey but with a considerably different style. The stars then lined up somehow because Bubby Lewis....was back in his home from touring and available to do it."

The image of aligning stars is a good one for this track. The cascading arpeggios, sweeping filters on the synths and reverb-soaked sounds give a sense of wide open space. This contrasts nicely with the tune's bright tempo and the driving playing from drummer Fernando García. Beginning with ethereal pads and light fills from keys as the bass ostinato sneaks in, the track quickly builds in energy to set up for the big event: dueling bass solos.

The difference in styles Torres eludes to in his description of the track works in everyone's favor here. Not only do Torres and Lewis have very different distinct melodic approaches, they also go for very different bass tones, allowing for a sense of conversation. Lewis opts for lots of effects, including octave-up and synth sounds, while Torres opts for an essentially clean tone with the strings clearly audible. While both play beautiful lyrical lines, Torres makes expert use of space while Lewis superimposes exciting reharmonizations over the chord changes.

The track as a whole has a very satisfying arc and is worth a listen for the bass solos alone, but chances are fans of rock-influenced playing will want to listen more than once. Bass players are sure to enjoy this track, as are any fans of Victor Wooten's projects or of high intensity players like Hiromi.

Track Listing

Rebellion; High Stakes; Moving Mountain; Ambivalence; Loss; Barriers; Aftermath; Finale; (Bonus Track) True (Revamp).


Joan Torres: bass, electric; Jonathan Suazo: saxophone, alto; Gabriel Vicéns: guitar; Sergio González: guitar; Emanuel Rivera: keyboards; Fernando García: drums; Paoli Mejias: percussion.

Additional Instrumentation

Julius Meléndez: trumpet (6); Elana Hedrych: vocals (6); Fermín A. Segarra Cordero: violin; Guillermo A. Peguero Alers: violin; Lourdes N. Negrón Santos: viola; Fermín Segarra Vásquez: cello; Andrés E. Almodóvar Santiago: double bass.

Album information

Title: Revolution | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Self Produced

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Untucked In Hannover
Tom Rainey Obbligato
Aliens & Wizards
The Spike Wilner Trio
Manhattan Samba
Hendrik Meurkens
Almost Alone Vol 1
Samo Salamon & Friends
Irene Schweizer / Hamid Drake
Live at FarOut, Atsugi 1987
Derek Bailey / Mototeru Takagi
Live at No Black Tie
Jeremy Monteiro
Between Us
Emil Viklický & Pavel Hrubý


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.