We Jazz artists, Eric Hofbauer & The Pen Club

Maurice Hogue BY

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
Finnish jazz artists are front-and-center this episode. You'll hear music from the ambitious and busy We Jazz record label which is based in Helsinki, and you'll also hear music from one of that country's top trios, Hot Heros. They've got a new recording out on Eclipse Music, another important label in Finland. There's other new music too from Jamie Saft, The Pen Club from Australia, Toronto bassist Alex Fournier, the Portuguese-Italian band Tetterapadequ, and an extremely notable release for 2019, Eric Hofbauer's Five Agents and Book of Water. Plus many more great tunes!


  • David Murray "Evidence" from Fo Deuk Revue (Justin Time) 00:00
  • Host speaks 05:56
  • Eric Hofbauer's Five Agents "It Is Not Disconcerted" from Book of Water (Creative Nation) 08:37
  • The OGJB Quartet "OGJB #2" from Bamako (Tum) 19:02
  • Hot Heros "Virsi Kaitajaarvelta" from Folk Jazz from Finland (Eclipse Music) 25:29
  • Host speaks 35:42
  • Daniel Carter, Federico Ughi & Stelios Mihas "Diaspora Guinéa" from Radical Invisibility (577 Records) 37:55
  • Host speaks 52:12
  • Jamie Saft Quartet "Seven Are Double" from Hidden Corners (RareNoise) 53:15
  • Samuel Ber "Shortcut to Sfumato 3" from From Maps And Synecdoches (Self-released) 58:45
  • Samuel Ber "Sfumato 1" from From Maps and Synecdoches (Self-released) 1:05:55
  • Host speaks 1:10:04
  • Hot Heros "Days After The Rodeo" from Days After The Rodeo (Eclipse Music) 1:12:17
  • Hot Heros "Nogalez" from Days After The Rodeo (Eclipse Music) 1:20:40
  • Gianni Lenoci Trio "G-Man" from Stretching the Standards (Self-released) 1:26:56
  • Host speaks 1:31:00
  • The Pen Club "Buried Metal" from Data Retrieval (Eupaccia) 1:31:29
  • Angelika Niescier "Ekim" from New York Trio (Intakt) 1:39:57
  • Host speaks 1:48:41
  • Sam Gill's Coursed Waters "Staring Straight" from Many Altered Returns (Earshift Music) 1:50:03
  • Timo Lassy & Teppo Mäkynen " Liberty Part 2" from Timo Lassy & Teppo Mäkynen (We Jazz) 1:58:29
  • Timo Lassy & Teppo Mäkynen "Zomp" from Zomp (We Jazz) 2:01:31
  • Host speaks 2:04:22
  • Terkel Noergaard "Nineteen" from Terkel Nørgaard with Ralph Alessi (We Jazz) 2:06:22
  • Koma Saxo " Fanfarum for Komarum" from Port Koma / Fanfarum for Komarum (We Jazz) 2:12:41
  • Koma Saxo " Port Koma" from Port Koma / Fanfarum for Komarum (We Jazz) 2:15:34
  • Host speaks 2:18:26
  • Ilmiliekki Quartet "O Superman" from Land of Real Men (We Jazz) 2:20:16
  • Jerry Granelli "Buddy Bolden's Last Parade" from Old City New Voices (Self-released) 2:26:44
  • Kresten Osgood "Monk Fonk" from Kresten Osgood Quintet Plays Jazz (Gotta Let It Out) 2:31:32
  • Alex Fournier "ESD" from Triio (Self-released) 2:35:28
  • Host speaks 2:44:04
  • Tetterapadequ "Onibinda" from Back Again (Cylinder) 2:47:01

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.