Home » Search Center » Results: John Rae

Results for "John Rae"

Advanced search options

Results for pages tagged "John Rae"...


John Rae


John Rae is a jazz drummer and award winning composer. In 2009/10 he was the Creative New Zealand/Jack C. Richards composer-in-residence at Victoria University Wellington, New Zealand. "His writing incorporates a global perspective and his use of traditional instruments along with strings and jazz instruments can only be described as 21st century music". John recorded his first album at the age of sixteen with the Scottish saxophonist Tommy Smith and has subsequently recorded over 70 albums both as a leader and side man, including two BBC Jazz Albums of the Year


Splendid Isolation

Label: Thick Records
Released: 2024
Track listing: Intro; Apple Road; From Here To There; Say It With A Smile; Tak A Minute; The Expanse; Try Tone; Splendid Isolation; Archie'S Rumble; Yes; Position Normal; Esperar; Always Alone; Brainiac; Daddy What Did You Do In The War.


Article: Radio & Podcasts

A Focus On The Work Of Allison Burik And Some New Releases

Read "A Focus On The Work Of Allison Burik And Some New Releases" reviewed by Bob Osborne

On this show we focus on the work of Allison Burik. Also recent releases from Brûlez les Meubles, Biagio Coppa & Intrepid Trio, June Yun, John Rae and Ben Wilcock, Cecil Taylor, Joseph Daley, Jorge Cariglino, and Blue Moods. Playlist Show Intro 00:00 Allison Burik “Fragment 94" from Realm (Self Released) 00:54 Bellbird “Bluff" ...


The River Tethys

Label: Thick Records
Released: 2021
Track listing: Sol Draconi Septum; La Rosita; Grooving High; First Gate; The Butterfly; T'ien Shan; Aenea; The Stinger; Chicthatuk; The Secret Life of Music; Star Eyes


Think About It!

Label: Thick Records
Released: 2020
Track listing: East Of The Sun; The Nearness Of You; Voyage; Gone With The Wind; Stella By Starlight; If I Love You; Song For The Rootabagas.


John Rae Trio

Label: Thick Records NZ
Released: 2020
Track listing: Where The Wild Clematis Grow (Prelude) Nightmare We’ll Never Meet Again Canta Y No Llores 5th Avenue Wild Clematis


Uncouth and Without Form

Label: Thick Records NZ
Released: 2020
Track listing: 1- The Earl of Seaforth's Salute (6:02) 2- Jock and Sioux (5:42) 3- Freddy's Tune (3:53) 4- I'm Waulking (3:43) 5- Barry Gadjie (6:00) 6- Ye Banks and Braes (3:17) 7- Psalm (Peerie Cruicky) (4:04) 8- Uncouth and Without Form (3:55) 9- Mo rùn geal òg


Article: Album Review

BK3: Think About It!

Read "Think About It!" reviewed by Bruce Lindsay

BK3 is the collective name for a trio of Scotland's finest jazz players—pianist Brian Kellock, bassist Kenny Ellis and drummer John Rae. The three musicians first came together as the rhythm section for the John Rae Collective in 1988 and in the 30 or so years prior to the 2020 release of Think About It! the ...


Article: Album Review

The Rodger Fox Big Band: Plays New Zealand

Read "Plays New Zealand" reviewed by Jack Bowers

Although trombonist Rodger Fox has somehow managed to keep New Zealand's finest big band alive and swinging for more than four decades, the band has never devoted an entire album to music written and arranged by New Zealanders--until now. That's not to say that Fox and the band have ignored music from their home country. Over ...


Contest Giveaways
Enter our latest contest giveaway sponsored by Musicians Performance Trust Fund
Polls & Surveys
Vote for your favorite musicians and participate in our brief surveys.

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.