Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Jon Armstrong Sextet: Reabsorb


Jon Armstrong Sextet: Reabsorb


Sign in to view read count
Jon Armstrong Sextet: Reabsorb
Saxophonist Jon Armstrong reminds us that life and death are two sides of the same coin. Although seemingly disparate, like two sides of an LP, they cannot be separated. His sextet recording Reabsorb models this contrasting device by presenting two contrasting compositions, one on each side of an LP (also available as a CD and download). The music, inspired by an Erin Armstrong poem, presents both sides, which at first encounter come off as binary elements. Loud and soft. Busy and quiet. With closer inspection, the music melds together as yang to the opposite side's yin.

Armstrong a bandleader, composer, and Director of Jazz Studies at Idaho State University returned to Los Angeles, his former residence, to record Reabsorb with a cast of L.A. based musicians. His sextet includes trumpeter Dan Rosenboom (Burning Ghosts, Bright Eyes, Vinny Golia), trombonist,Ryan Dragon (John Beasley's MONK'estra), pianist Joshua White (Jason Robinson, Mark Dresser), bassist Benjamin Shepherd (Peter Erskine), and drummer Tina Raymond (Cathlene Pineda). His meditation on life, death and universal consciousness, although heady topics, turns out to be agreeable music. Side one, "Hit It As Loudly As Possible" (best case scenario: they'll mention the quiet when one has gone) does just that. Bam, a crash of notes accompanies Armstrong's tenor which blurts a string of notes over a trumpet/trombone line. The music kindles a sort of mashup memory. One where Bill Laswell might have sat in with Weather Report. That figures, as bassist Shepherd studied with Alphonso Johnson and performed with Peter Erskine. All is not mayhem though. Armstrong's composition incorporates varied arrangements to keep the music on track, even when White's piano is working a jangled path.

The flip side follows the balance of the poem: 'Released/Light moves inside a green leaf/Now I'm absorbed by green/bouncing the loop of light.' "Loop Of Light" enters on Carl Sandberg's quiet fog with breath instead of notes and the subtle body of piano insides, brush work, and hushed horns. Bass notes bubble as the energy rises and the band's reconciliation involves a careful and measured soloing by Ryan Dragon before the music crescendos into resolution. Maybe Jon Armstrong should have dared to title this recording Love Supreme Reabsorbed.

Track Listing

Hit It As Loudly As Possible; Loop of Light.


Album information

Title: Reabsorb | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Orenda Records



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


Billy Marrows and Grande Família
Cadair Idris
Awen Ensemble
DDG19 Big Band
Dani Gurgel


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.