Home » Jazz Articles » Tomas Janzon: Nomadic


Album Review

Tomas Janzon: Nomadic


Sign in to view read count
Tomas Janzon: Nomadic
Nomadic, Tomas Janzon's sixth album as leader, is a pleasant, easy-going session that benefits greatly from the presence, on half a dozen tracks, of the superb vibraphonist Steve Nelson who adds substance and color to what is essentially a quartet or trio session wherein Janzon's mellow guitar carries much of the weight.

There are eleven tracks in all, the first four and last four by Janzon, separated by McCoy Tyner's tranquil "Search for Peace," Sonny Rollins' no-more-than-lukewarm "Valse Hot" and Lee Konitz & Tadd Dameron's light- hearted "Subconscious Lee/Hot House." Nelson rounds out a quartet on five of his six numbers, with Hilliard Greene on bass and Chuck McPherson on drums. Janzon and Nelson comprise a duo on the former's "Letter from JSB," while the remaining trio tracks are played by Janzon, bassist Jeff Littleton and drummer Tony Austin.

After lighting a small but no less welcome fire on "Hothouse" and his own "Ascending" (again with Nelson), Janzon walks it back on "Blue Frog Return" and (to a lesser extent) on "Pressing Forward," which wraps up the smooth and generally likeable session. Littleton solos on that one, a rare instance wherein the spotlight strays from Janzon or Nelson—which is not displeasing, as each of them has a wealth of interesting ideas to impart. In sum, not an album that screams "wow!" but one that encompasses handsome music from end to end. Perfect for those quiet times when lights are low and repose is the order of the day.

Track Listing

Out Door Valley; Rob’s Piano; Night Watch; Letter from JSB; Search for Peace; Valse Hot; Subconscious Lee/Hot House; Ascending; Uncovering; Blue Frog Return; Pressing Forward.


Tomas Janzon: guitar; Steve Nelson: vibraphone; Hilliard Greene: bass; Jeff Littleton: bass, acoustic; Chuck McPherson: drums; Tony Austin: drums.

Album information

Title: Nomadic | Year Released: 2023 | Record Label: Changes Music - Tomas Janzon

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



John La Barbera
Cry Me A River
Hilario Duran
Oblong Aplomb
Matt Mitchell
The Defector
Henry Spencer


Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio
Afro Futuristic Dreams
Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids
Pharoah (Box Set)
Pharoah Sanders
Dynamic Maximum Tension
Darcy James Argue's Secret Society

On the record

Vibes on a Breath
Ted Piltzecker
Jonathan Karrant
Brazilian Match
Luiz Millan
Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.