Home » Music » Song of the Day


XYZ by Jeff Richman

From the album

Album Title: XYZ
Label: Blue Canoe Records
Released: 2023


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

Fresh is the best one-word summation of XYZ. Richman’s eighteenth record as a leader, and first since 2016’s dynamic Sizzle, keenly addresses the old adage that “good things come to those who wait.” Richman’s ensemble is anchored by the rhythm section giants Vinnie Colaiuta and Jimmy Haslip, as well as by keyboardists George Whitty, Scott Kinsey, Mitchel Forman, Otmaro Ruiz, and trumpet soloist Jeff Beal. Nine original songs, led by Richmans’ compositional imagination, are propelled by the dynamics of the band’s improvisational skills. While Richman’s well-established signature sound is gracefully in place, XYZ expands the directional scope and pops with a modern-day swagger.

Song Listing

XYZ; Be Cool; Optamystical; Ray Barretto; Left Right Here; Lost Daze; Likewise; Bar 55; She's Got To Be Somewhere.


Jeff Richman
guitar, electric
George Whitty
Dean Taba
bass, electric
Jeff Beal
Otmaro Ruiz
Scott Kinsey
Mitchel Forman


  • XYZ by Jim Worsley

Date featured

April 21, 2023

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Song of the Day


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.