Charles Mingus in the 1960s (1959 - 1963)

Russell Perry By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

Charles Mingus completed the 1950s with an astonishing series of releases in 1959 -Blues and Roots, followed by Mingus Ah Um and finally, Mingus Dynasty. He kept up this pace for several years culminating in 1963 with Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus and his masterwork, The Black Saint and The Sinner Lady. We have some live recordings from 1964 and 1965, but otherwise he went silent for the rest of the decade. The early 1960s recordings of Charles Mingus with Eric Dolphy and Rahsaan Roland Kirk in this hour of Jazz at 100.


  • Host Intro 0:00
  • Charles Mingus Quartet "Original Faubus Fables" from Charles Mingus Presents Charles Mingus (Debut) 3:48
  • Charles Mingus Sextet "Eat That Chicken" from Oh Yeah (Atlantic) 12:52
  • Host speaks 17:28
  • Charles Mingus Nonet "Prayer for Passive Resistance" from Mingus Revisited. (Mercury) 20:10
  • Charles Mingus Septet "Jelly Roll" from Mingus Ah Um (Columbia) 24:00
  • Host speaks 30:12
  • Charles Mingus Nonet "Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me" from Mingus Revisited (Mercury) 31:08
  • Charles Mingus Orchestra "Mood Indigo" from Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus (Impulse) 34:44
  • Host speaks 39:26
  • Charles Mingus Orchestra. "Solo Dancer (Stop! Look! And Listen, Sinner Jim Whitney)" from The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady (Impulse) 42:07
  • Charles Mingus Orchestra. "Duet Solo Dancers (Hearts' Beat And Shades in Physical Embraces)" from The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady (Impulse) 48:44
  • Host Outro 55:24


View events near New York City
Jazz Near New York City
Events Guide | Venue Guide | Get App | More...

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles