Home » Jazz Articles » Elliot Bild & the Zone: ISMS

Album Review

Elliot Bild & the Zone: ISMS


Sign in to view read count
Elliot Bild & the Zone: ISMS
A textural and improvisational tour de force from Elliot Bild and the Zone, ISMS, recorded live, consists of ten selections—nine of which are Bild originals—and offers up an evening of intelligent and enlightening jazz.

"Army of Aliens (Your Thoughts)" opens the set and is a classic hard-bop burner with Bild and saxophonist Hudson-Casanova lifting off the launch pad. "Lines and Dots" is a tasty bossa with an angular melodic head reminiscent of Oliver Nelson's symmetrical melodic patterns.

Bild has complete command of his axe across the entirety of his horn and across the session. He possesses an inviting, gorgeous tone, and the unique ability to modify it colorfully. Check out "What's Within," a misterioso-like whisper, parrying deftly in breath-tones with fine bassist, Nicholas Salcido. This is a fine young trumpeter whose improv influences (Terell Stafford, John Swana, and Woody Shaw) are readily apparent. However, he is certainly his own music man.

As composer, Bild's compositions are engaging, colorful platforms for this piano-less group. He has a penchant for the more modern compositional approach, i.e., angular with lots of fourths and fifths. That technique and its modal harmonic underpinnings allow leeway for soloists to blow on—and they take advantage gleefully. The vibes/guitar/bass set-up, along with Gusten Rudolph's terrific drums, gives ISMS somewhat of a cooler, liquid orchestration. The communication across this ensemble is energized and fun to hear.

As leader, Bild is generous, allowing his marvelously talented Zone mates to stretch out liberally. Check out guest James Santangelo's killer piano and altoist Michael Hudson-Casanova's jaunts on the modal mover, "Numb." "Subconscious Resentment" hits with a walking Salcido bass/Perry guitar "X Files"-like intro before the trumpet and alto statement pops in and a fine sax solo follows. "Parallels of Latitude" is another straight ahead cooker with a catchy melodic head. "Law and Order" is a deep portrait that offers Steve Perry's fine vibes and Bild's singing horn. There's a terrific Salcido bass solo there, too. The title track concludes the live date with an angular head after which Bild, Lombardelli, et al, take off to ignite each other's fires, the live audience, and assuredly future listeners.

ISMS offers an hour's worth of terrific listening.

Track Listing

Army of Aliens (Your Thoughts), Lines and Dots, What's Within, Numb, Fighting, Subconscious Resentment, Parallels of Latitude, Fighting What's Within, Law and Order, ISMS


Elliot Bild: trumpet; Michael Hudson-Casanova: saxophone; Steven Perry: vibraphone; Benjamin Karp: guitar; Nick Salcido: bass; Gusten Rudolph: drums; James Santangelo: piano; Nick Lombardelli: multi-instrumentalist.

Album information

Title: ISMS | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Self Produced

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Post a comment about this album



Albare & Co.
Fire Hills
Olie Brice Trio / Octet
Far Horizons
Brian Auger and the Trinity


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.