Home » Jazz Articles » Kyle Eastwood: In Transit


Album Review

Kyle Eastwood: In Transit


Sign in to view read count
Kyle Eastwood: In Transit
Now that he is into his late 40's and has released nine albums in his 19 years as leader, no lingering doubt can remain that bassist and composer Kyle Eastwood has stepped out of the formidable shadow of his father. The latest evidence is presented here in the form of Eastwood's latest release, In Transit.

Although he gained valuable experience working on the soundtracks of films such as The Rookie and Mystic River, the greatest legacy Kyle received from Clint was a childhood steeped in music, particularly jazz. Living in Carmel, close to Monterey, the Eastwoods were regulars at the annual jazz festival, and his father's A-list status meant that the young Kyle got to meet such luminaries as Dizzy Gillespie and Sarah Vaughan. Added to a diet of classic jazz at home, such experiences educated him well in the language of jazz—and the results are still readily apparent on In Transit. Alongside the bassist, a classic line-up is completed by Andrew McCormack (piano), Quentin Collins (trumpet and flugelhorn), plus new additions Brandon Allen (tenor and soprano saxophone) and Ernesto Simpson (drums) and special guest Stefano di Battista on saxophones as well. The five form a unit which is loose and funky, with the members comfortable in each other's company.

The album's ten compositions, plus two bonus tracks, are a rich extension of Eastwood's history as a bandleader, presenting here a work infused with melodic elegance and a sustained sense of groove organized around the quintet's often-collective compositions, combined with their take on some timeless classics. McCormack, Eastwood and Simpson make a solid rhythm section, laying down a reliable foundation which supports some inventive soloing. Collins and Allen are particularly effective in tandem. Whether playing a melody line in unison or trading solos, they help the quintet conjure up the sound and spirit of Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers.

The end result is Eastwood's finest album to date, one which has a timeless quality and nothing to pin it to the 21st century. In fact, it could easily have originated in any of the past four decades.

Track Listing

Soulful Times; Rush Hour; Movin'; Cinema Paradiso; Night Flight; We See; Rockin' Ronnie's; Jarreau; Blues in Hoss' Flat; Boogie Stop Shuffle; Sunrise - Bonus Track; Swamp To An Oasis - Bonus Track


Kyle Eastwood: bass; Andrew McCormack: piano; Quentin Collins: trumpet and flugelhorn; Brandon Allen: tenor and soprano saxophone; Ernesto Simpson: drums; Stefano di Battista: saxophone.

Album information

Title: In Transit | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: Jazz Village

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



All One
Ben Wendel
Ginger's Hollow
Linley Hamilton
Nicola Conte
Space Is The Place (Music From The Original...
Sun Ra & His Intergalactic Solar Arkestra


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.