From C to Shining C

Mary Foster Conklin By

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
The broadcast fell after Independence Day but included sparkling new releases from vocalists Rachelle Garniez, Lucy Yeghiazaryan, Isabel Crespo Pardo (For Now) and saxophonist Bob Sheppard, with birthday shout outs to Louis Armstrong, organist Rhoda Scott, vocalists Claudia Acuna, Melissa Walker and trombonist Natalie Cressman among others.


  • Rhoda Scott "From C to Shining C" from From C to Shining C (Doodlin Records) 00:00
  • Alyssa Allgood "Exactly Like You" from Exactly Like You (Cellar Live) 04:44
  • Freddy Cole "Where Can I Go without You" from The Dreamer in Me (HighNote) 08:56
  • Cecile McLorin Salvant "I've Got Your Number" from The Window (Mack Avenue) 13:46
  • Host speaks 18:41
  • Pureum Jin "Ah Oh Owa" from The Real Blue (Cellar Live) 21:55
  • Gabrielle Stravelli "Mammas, Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys" from Pick Up My Pieces (Self released) 29:37
  • Willie Nelson "I Miss You So" from American Classic (Blue Note) 34:37
  • Host speaks 39:06
  • Bob Sheppard "People Make the World Go Round" from The Fine Line (Challenge Records) 41:57
  • Kerem Gorsev & Allan Harris "Medley (Too Young/Mona Lisa)" from Back Again (Rec by Saatçi) 47:01
  • Celia Berk "Up on the Roof" from Manhattan Serenade (Self released) 50:10
  • Host speaks 53:05
  • Miho Hazama "Run" from Dancer in Nowhere (Sunnyside) 54:06
  • Five Play "Struttin With Some Barbeque" from Live at the Deer Head Inn (Deer Head Records) 1:01:11
  • Greta Matassa "Just for a Thrill" from Portrait (Origin) 1:07:50
  • Louis Armstrong "Hotter Than That" from West End Blues 1926-1933 (Epm Musique) 1:13:12
  • Louis Armstrong "Summer Song (from The Real Ambassadors)" from This Is Jazz Louis Armstrong Sings (Columbia/Legacy) 1:16:10
  • Host speaks 1:19:23
  • Emily Remler "Blues for Herb" from East to Wes (Concord) 1:22:21
  • Lucy Yeghiazaryan "That Ole Devil Called Love" from Blue Heaven (Cellar Music) 1:28:42
  • Claudia Acuna "Hey " from Turning Pages (Defin) 1:32:38
  • Host speaks 1:35:54
  • Brandee Younger "Respected Destroyer" from Soul Awakening (Self released) 1:37:13
  • Christian McBride Big Band (feat. Melissa Walker) "Upside Down (Flor de Lis)" from Bringin It (Mack Avenue) 1:44:07
  • Carmen Lundy "The Island, The Sea and You" from Code Noir (Afrasia Productions) 1:48:46
  • Host speaks 1:53:01
  • Anat Cohen Tentet "Triple Helix: ii for Anat" from Triple Helix (Anzic Records) 1:54:22
  • Yoko Miwa "Sunshine Follows Rain" from Keep Talkin' (Self released) 2:00:05
  • Josephine Sanges "Music" from Finding Beauty (Self released) 2:10:11
  • Ellynne Rey "Ornithology" from The Birdsongs Project (Self released) 2:13:12
  • Host speaks 2:16:56
  • Ulysses Owens, Jr. "Oh Freedom" from Songs of Freedom (Resilience Music) 2:18:45
  • Lauren Henderson "Protocol" from Alma Oscura (Brontosaurus Records) 2:23:05
  • Aimée Allen "Shooting Star" from Wings Uncaged (Azuline) 2:25:05
  • Host speaks 2:30:28
  • Ed Palermo Big Band "Laurie Frink" from A Lousy Day in Harlem (Sky Cat Records) 2:33:36
  • Maureen Kennedy "Who Knows Where the Time Goes?" from This Is Always (Baldwin Street Music) 2:42:01
  • Claire Daly "Homage to Freedom" from Mary Joyce Project: Nothing to Lose (Daly Bread Records) 2:46:42
  • Host speaks 2:51:07
  • Chelsea McBride's Socialist Night School "Intransitory" from The Twilight Fall (Browntasaurus Records) 2:53:29
  • Mary Halvorson "Thunderhead" from Code Girl (Firehouse 12 Records) 3:01:04
  • Rachelle Garniez "Swimming Pool Blue" from Swimming Pool Blue (Stand Clear Music) 3:05:59
  • Tillery "God Is in the Details" from Tillery (Self released) 3:10:26
  • Host speaks 3:15:54
  • For Now "How the Light Gets In" from The Turning (Self released) 3:19:13
  • Jay Clayton "I May Remember Him" from Unraveling Emily (Sunnyside) 3:25:02
  • Dave Frishberg "You Are There" from Who's On First (Blue Note) 3:28:46
  • Natalie Cressman & Ian Faquino "My Heart Again Will Rise" from Setting Rays of Summer (Self released) 3:31:27
  • Host speaks 3:34:51
  • Marlene Rosenberg "And Still We Rise" from MLK Convergence (Origin) 3:37:56
  • Rene Marie "Voice of My Beautiful Country Suite: I. America the Beautiful" from Voice of My Beautiful Country (Motéma) 3:42:38
  • Billy Childs "Save the Country" from Map to the Treasure (Sony Masterworks) 3:47:20
  • Host speaks 3:54:47
  • Maria Schneider Orchestra "A Potter's Song" from The Thompson Fields (Artist Share) 3:56:00

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.