Free Association - Vol. 3 with John Murph

Ludovico Granvassu By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

Free Association is a series of collaborative mix-tapes curated by Mondo Jazz in association with musicians and selectors of various origins.

Free Association mix-tapes develop as a conversation. The first selector sends a tune cherry-picked to suit, and ideally surprise, the second selector who then, in turn, returns the favor. An hour or so into this exchange, after unexpected turns and joyful revelations, the two look back at the results of this game of musical tennis-table and decide whether to share it with the world.

The guest selector for the third installment of this series is the Washington, D.C.-based music journalist and DJ John Murph, a regular contributor to The Washington Post, The Atlantic Monthly, NPR Jazz, DownBeat, JazzTimes, JazzWise and The Root. He hosts a weekly radio program at Eaton Hotel DC.

Enjoy these groovy cuts which should appeal both to your jazz sensibility and your need to dance these crazy times off. Think Brecker Brothers playing "Disco Inferno," literally, A Tribe Called Quest sampling Ronnie Foster's "Mystic Brew," John Murph throwing in Herbie Hancock's "Watermelon Man" in the middle of Jamael Dean's "People Tell Olo / Akamara," and you get a sense of what to expect.

Mondo Jazz's picks are the odd numbered ones; John Murph's the even numbered ones.


  • Ella Fitzgerald with Jimmy Jones and his Orchestra "These Boots Are Made for Walkin'" These Boots Are Made for Walkin' -Single (Jazzman) 0:00
  • Matt Martians "Dent Jusay" The Drum Chord Theory (Three Quarter) 3:10
  • Herbert "The Movers and the Shakers" Scale (Accidental) 4:56
  • Jneiro Jarel "Banana Peel" After a Thousand Years (Far Out Recordings) 8:20
  • Dominique Fils-Aimé "Sun Rise" Stay Tuned! (Ensoul) 11:20
  • Mausiki Scales & The Common Ground Collective "Let the Drums Remind You" Westwest Africa (Bandcamp) 13:05
  • Players Association "Disco Inferno" Born to Dance (Vanguard) 17:20
  • Earth, Wind & Fire "Can't Hide Love" Gratitude (Columbia) 22:36
  • Duke Pearson "Cristo Redentor" How Insensitive (Blue Note) 28:30
  • The Greg Foat Group "Symphonie Pacifique" Symphonie Pacifique (Strut) 32:20
  • Galliano "Prince of Peace" A Joyful Noise Unto the Creator (Talkin' Loud) 37:06
  • A Tribe Called Quest "Electric Relaxation" Midnight Marauders (Jive) 40:45
  • Otis Sandsjö "tremendoce" Y-OTIS 2 (We Jazz) 43:45
  • Jamael Dana Dean "People Tell Olo / Akamara" Eledumare (Stones Throw Records) 46:10
  • Almamegretta "'O cielo pe' cuscino" Anima Migrante (BMG) 53:10
  • Sam Gendel "Cold Duck Time" Satin Doll (Nonesuch) 57:58
Photo credit: Wayne Miller


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and through our retail affiliations you'll support us in the process.


Rare vinyl LPs and CDs from over 1,000 independent sellers


CDs, Vinyl, Blu-Ray DVDS, Prime membership, Alexa, SONOS and more


Specializing in high resolution and CD-quality downloads


Specializing in music, movies and video games


Marketplace for new, used, and vintage instruments and gear