Drifter: Flow

Bruce Lindsay BY

Sign in to view read count
Drifter: Flow
Drifter started life as the Alexi Tuomarila Quartet, a band that was beginning to develop a reputation on the European jazz scene with its second album, 02 (Warner Jazz, 2003). Unfortunately, the label's parent company dropped its jazz list, leaving the quartet without a contract shortly after the album's release. Tuomarila carried on—releasing a trio album, joining Polish trumpet legend Tomasz Stanko's Quintet and working across Europe in numerous ensembles.

A decade later, the UK independent Edition Records signed Tuomarila, releasing his second trio album Seven Hills (2013) and now his third quartet album, Flow, under the new group name of Drifter. Saxophonist Nicolas Kummert and bassist Axel Gilain remain from the original quartet and are joined by drummer Teun Verbruggen.

Apart from a rather cheery, up-tempo, version of Sting's "King Of Pain" all the tunes are originals, mostly by Tuomarila or Kummert. If any tune on the album epitomises its title, that tune is Tuomarila's beautiful "Crow Hill." The musical flow stems from the composer's tumbling piano phrases and Kummert's long, fluid, tenor lines. The pianist's "Vagabond" is built on a staccato three-note rhythm started by the piano then taken up by Gilain's bass: Kummert repeats the three note motif but plays legato. The result is an intriguing and engaging mix.

A few tracks feature Kummert and Gilain on vocals. The slow, languid, "Lighthouse" builds gradually on Gilain's bass riff—a moody, tense, atmosphere is the result. The vocal—nothing more than the repetitive chant of "Lighthouse, I'm looking for a lighthouse"—detracts from this instrumental drama, which only returns when Kummert's solo replaces the vocal chant. "Nothing Ever Lasts" couples Gilian's lyrics with an '80s smooth jazz tenor solo: the result is rather bland, enlivened briefly by Tuomarila's fleet-fingered piano lines. Kummert's "Breathing Out My Soul" opens with a wordless wail. Once Tuomarila kicks in with his soulful, almost gospel, piano phrases, supported by Gilain and Verbruggen's funky rhythm, the song takes flight.

Track Listing

Crow Hill; The Elegist; Lighthouse; Harmattan; Nothing Ever Lasts; Breathing Out My Soul; Toueï; King Of Pain; Vagabond.


Alexi Tuomarila: piano; Nicolas Kummert: saxophone, vocals; Axel Gilain: double bass, vocals; Teun Verbruggen: drums.

Album information

Title: Flow | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: Edition Records

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


A New Dawn
Marius Neset
Il Sogno
Chick Corea Akoustic Band with John Patitucci &...
Detail - 90
Frode Gjerstad / Kent Carter / John Stevens
Alex Jenkins Trio
Gaetano Letizia


Terence Blanchard featuring The E-Collective
The Garden
Rachel Eckroth
Uma Elmo
Jakob Bro

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.