Home » Jazz Articles » Ensemble Dedalus + eRikm: Fata Morgana


Album Review

Ensemble Dedalus + eRikm: Fata Morgana


Sign in to view read count
Ensemble Dedalus + eRikm: Fata Morgana
If you have the belief that your house plants are talking amongst themselves, you may not be crazy. French composer and electronics musician Erikm aka Eric Matt, with the help of the experimental chamber Ensemble Dedalus, transmutes sounds created beyond the frequencies of human hearing into a spectrum accessible to our limited range. This process reveals a world of creatures and natural phenomena that, unless you were working in a specific scientific discipline, may never suggest itself to you.

The artist eRikm has worked as a turntablist and sound artist, collaborating with the likes of Christian Fennesz, Otomo Yoshihide, Christian Marclay, and Martin Tetreault. Here he enlists the six-piece Ensemble Dedalus to interpret the inaudible (to us) sounds made into notes by the MIDI code, and finally, eRikm composes and arranges the materials along with field recordings from microphones placed in natural areas on all four continents. The sounds are Fata Morgana, a sonic mirage. Like a visual mirage, where you might convince yourself you see something that is not there, the sounds of imperceptible neutrinos, "Ambre Gris" or sperm whales' intestinal wax, microscopic insects, are made real. At least as a kind of phantasmagoria.

The ensemble's interpretations open and close the recording in an insect and amphibian habitat. These are strangely familiar realms with strings and brass interpreting the alien sounds transposed for the chamber ensemble mixed with the field recordings. The sounds are extraterrestrial yet—and this is the terrifying thing—they are all around us. Think about this the next time you step on a spider or trim a hedge.

Track Listing

Microfaune; Expedition Pass Reservoir; Ambre Gris; Les Royaumes De L’irréel; Antares Neutrino; Solastalgie; Sonomorphose; Fernweh; Nymphe.


Erikm: electronics; Ensemble Dedalus.

Additional Instrumentation

ErikM: composition, electronics, field recording; Didier Aschour: guitar; Amélie Berson: flute; Thierry Madiot: trombone; Christian Pruvost: trumpet; Silvia Tarozzi: violin; Deborah Walker: cello.

Album information

Title: Fata Morgana | Year Released: 2023 | Record Label: Self Produced

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Two Hours After Midnight
Louise Dodds and Elchin Shirinov
Lean In
Gretchen Parlato and Lionel Loueke
The Bowie Project
Metropolitan Jazz Octet
Time Took Care of It
Danny Fox Trio


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.