All About Jazz

Home » Articles » Mixcloud

Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Erik Friedlander throws a glass of absinthe, and more new releases

Ludovico Granvassu By

Sign in to view read count
This week Mondo Jazz chats with cellist Erik Friedlander about his latest project inspired by Pablo Picasso's bronze sculpture "Glass of Absinthe." Artemisia—a visually stunning vinyl box set containing musically stunning work—features Uri Caine on piano, Mark Helias on bass and Ches Smith on drums.

And, of course, more new releases!

  • Ben Allison "Mondo Jazz Theme (feat. Ted Nash & Pyeng Threadgill)"
  • Reinier Baas "Off the Sauce" from Mostly Improvised Instrumental Indie Music on (Mainland) 0:05
  • Host talk 4:52
  • Sly & Robbie, Nils Petter Molvaer, Eivind Aarset & Vladislav Delay "Rock-Stone Noah Bingie" from Nordub on (Okeh) 6:48
  • David Ake "Groundwork" from Humanities on (Posi-Tone) 12:17
  • Host talk 20:22
  • Maciej Obara Quartet "Echoes" from Unloved on (ECM) 21:29
  • Django Bates Beloved "Little Petherick" from The Study of Touch on (ECM) 30:29
  • Alban Darche & L'OrphiCube "Rhythm Song" from The Atomic Flonflons on (Yolk) 36:46
  • Host talk 42:47
  • Jean Christope Cholet, Alban Darche, Mathias Ruegg and Grand Ensemble "Le Tombeau de Poulenc 1" Le Tombeau de Poulenc on (Yolk) 44:14
  • Jozef Dumoulin & Orca Noise Unit "Little Lemon" from A Beginner's Guide to Diving and Flying on (Yolk) 53:29
  • Erik Friedlander's Throw a Glass "The Great Revelation" from Artemisia on (Skipstone) 57:57
  • Host talk 1:05:05
  • Interview with Erik Friedlander, Part 1 1:07:29
  • Erik Friedlander's Throw a Glass "Blush" from Artemisia on (Skipstone) 1:09:45
  • Host talk 1:17:40
  • Interview with Erik Friedlander, Part 2 box set 1:18:32
  • Erik Friedlander's Throw a Glass "As They Are" from Artemisia on (Skipstone) 1:20:11
  • Host talk 1:26:38
  • Interview with Erik Friedlander, Part 3 1:27:07
  • Erik Friedlander's Throw a Glass "Sparkotropic" from Artemisia on (Skipstone) 1:28:38
  • Evan Parker & Ned Rothenberg "On Core En Cours (Live)" from Live at Roulette on (Animul Records) 1:36:30
  • Sara Serpa "Pássaros" from Close Up on (Clean Feed) 1:42:08
  • Christian Lillinger's Grund "Dralau" from COR on (Plaist Music) 1:50:42


comments powered by Disqus

Related Articles

Read "Joy, Joy and More Joy" Mixcloud Joy, Joy and More Joy
by Ludovico Granvassu
Published: March 1, 2018
Read "Traveling (Part 2)" Mixcloud Traveling (Part 2)
by Ludovico Granvassu
Published: January 5, 2018
Read "Film Noir, a Jazz Investigation" Mixcloud Film Noir, a Jazz Investigation
by Ludovico Granvassu
Published: February 5, 2018
Read "The Gift of Music (Part 1)" Mixcloud The Gift of Music (Part 1)
by Ludovico Granvassu
Published: January 21, 2018