Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Henrique Mota Trio: É Pra Jazz


Henrique Mota Trio: É Pra Jazz


Sign in to view read count
Henrique Mota Trio: É Pra Jazz
Fusing the Brazilian rhythms of São Paulo with the feel of modern jazz, pianist Henrique Mota offers seven enticing cuts on his latest trio release, É Pra Jazz. With the top-shelf contributions of his bandmates, bassist Iury Batista and drummer Cuca Teixeira, not to mention a couple of esteemed guests, bassist Thiago Espirito Santo and saxophonist Cássio Ferreira, Mota has assembled a winning team for this album, and the resulting music is both joyful and exuberant.

The opening track is the album's one cover, Antonio Carlos Jobim's "One Note Samba," and here Mota displays his maverick tendencies, providing a spirited rendition that makes only tangential reference to the melody, using an odd-meter groove that highlights the prodigious rhythmic talents of Batista and Teixera, along with a beautiful rubato section from the pianist. It is both musically complex and danceable at the same time, an attribute that applies to much of the album as a whole.

While the other cuts may not be quite as memorable or impressive as the opener, they still reveal Mota's significant skills as a composer. The album's title track is an up-tempo workout, with Mota's right-hand acuity fully evident, while the tunefully swinging "Rudge Ramos" has a Thelonious Monk-like playfulness. And "Avocado" is another tricky piece, with shifting tempos that give all three musicians a chance to dig into the music's knotty contours. The contributions of Santo, whose electric bass has its own melodic charms on the ballad track, "Nobre," and Ferreira, who enlivens the album's closer, "Song for Isa" with a tenacious soprano sax solo, are both fine additions to the trio's successful formula.

É Pra Jazz is a satisfying and convincing glimpse of an artist on the rise, and Mota's upcoming projects will be worth investigating.

Track Listing

One Note Samba; Life Goes On; É Pra Jazz; Nobre; Rudge Ramos; Avocado; Song for Isa.


Additional Instrumentation

Thiago Espirito Santo: electric bass (4); Cássio Ferreira: soprano saxophone (7).

Album information

Title: É Pra Jazz | Year Released: 2024 | Record Label: Self Produced

< Previous
The Time Is Now!



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


Justin Salisbury
Duke's Place
Mercer Hassy Orchestra
Outer, Inner, Secret
Louie Belogenis
Trachant PAP
Trachant PAP


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.