Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Tyler Mitchell: Dancing Shadows


Tyler Mitchell: Dancing Shadows


Sign in to view read count
Tyler Mitchell: Dancing Shadows
There's a buzz to Dancing Shadows that is akin to the first time one stumbled upon a late 1950s to late 1960s Blue Note, Riverside, Verve, Impulse! or Prestige recording and time just stopped and the music took you places you were eager to go whether you knew where you were going or not. You stared at the cover, the wall, into the new, opening world. It may well have been your first mind-altering experience without, (or in conjunction with) any of the pharmaceuticals of the time.

A great head with jaunty moves Dancing Shadows certainly is, and for that we owe bassist Tyler Mitchell a good deal of gratitude. Serving as the session's swing-spring anchor, Tyler gives the floor over to elder statesman and Sun Ra alum saxophonist Marshall Allen who, at the very creative age of 97, takes us loosely through a twelve-song set consisting of Tyler and Marshall originals, a couple of prime Sun Ra takes and "Skippy," an inverted bop bounce courtesy of Thelonious Monk that may leave you dancing on clouds.

Sounding like they all convened in a New York studio via Chicago and Hackensack, the remaining sextet—Chris Hemingway tenor sax, Nicoletta Manzini alto sax. drummer Wayne Smith, and percussionist Elson Nascimento—follow Tyler and Mitchell's lead with a fluid affinity that locks the listener in and moves him or her on. Just try to resist the groove to Sun Ra's 1966 gem "Interstellar Low Ways," a groove that has lost none of its power to sway. The title track is a hard bop free-fall with the horns ripping and declaring, tripping and daring the listener and the rhythm section to keep up. The trippy lure of "Angels and Demons," the brief, casual fire of "Care Free," the burst and blare of "Space Travelers," all add up to that rare rush that seems to get harder and harder to find. Listen to this one at the start of the day what watch how easy the day gets.

Track Listing

Interstellar Lowways; Spaced Out; Angels & Demons At Play; Skippy; Nico; Dancing Shadows; Carefree; Marshall The Deputy; Nico Revisited; Space Travelers; Enlightenment; A Call For All Demons.


Marshall Allen
saxophone, alto
Chris Hemingway
saxophone, alto
Nicoletta Manzini
saxophone, alto
Elson Nascimento

Album information

Title: Dancing Shadows | Year Released: 2022 | Record Label: Mahakala Music



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


For Real!
Hampton Hawes
The Bobby Broom Organi-Sation
David Bixler


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.