Learn How

We need your help in 2018

Support All About Jazz All About Jazz is looking for readers to help fund our 2018 projects that directly support jazz. You can make this happen by purchasing ad space or by making a donation to our fund drive. In addition to completing every project (listed here), we'll also hide all Google ads and present exclusive content for a full year!


Sara Serpa & André Matos: All The Dreams

Dan Bilawsky By

Sign in to view read count
There may be no combination better capable of painting and promoting aural iridescence than that of vocalist Sara Serpa and guitarist André Matos. The work they've produced together, both on their first duo album—Primavera (Inner Circle Music, 2014)—and on this alluring outing, pits consistency against the transient nature of sonic coloration in understated yet spectacular fashion. Their music is art at the point where minimalism and cangiante merge, resulting in an otherworldly sound that's utterly enthralling and completely unique.

All The Dreams is a collection of miniatures—all but one of its fourteen pieces clock in under four minutes—but Serpa and Matos make the most out of each fleeting and floating vehicle. There are moments where mystery holds sway over the proceedings ("A La Montage"), there are times when a child-like sense of curiosity seamlessly shifts into more mature arenas ("Programa"), and there are places where a sense of pure peacefulness is embodied in downward drifts ("Postlude"). The music manages to be both ethereal and earthly all at once.

While this is a duo date in a general sense, it expands on that concept in several ways. First, there's the use of the studio as a third partner in the equation. Serpa and Matos make artful use of it, adding intoxicating overdubs ("A La Montagne"), reversing vocals ("amlaC"), and working other instruments around vocals and guitar. Next, there's the shadow of the authors and poets who hover over the music, as various songs touch on the written work of Luis Amaro ("Programo"), Alvaro de Campos ("Nada"), William Blake ("Night"), and Clarice Lispector ("Os Outros"). And lastly, there's the presence of two guests—Pete Rende, who adds synthesizer on three tracks, and Billy Mintz, who brings oh-so-sensitive and subtle percussive touches into the mix on four numbers. Each adds important textures to the music without detracting from the intimate vibe. The beauty and wonder in dreams, be it hazy, haunting, or heartwarming, is alive and well here.

Track Listing: Calma; A La Montagne; Estado De Graca; Story Of A Horse; Programa; Agua; Nada; Night; Hino; Lisboa; Espelho; Os Outros; Postlude; amlaC.

Personnel: Sara Serpa: vocals, piano (5, 9, 10), Fender Rhodes (4, 7); André Matos: guitar, electric bass (1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10-12); percussion (11); Pete Rende: synthesizer (1, 4, 14); drums and percussion (1, 3, 6, 10).

Title: All The Dreams | Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: Sunnyside Records


comments powered by Disqus

Warning: include(/data/websites/jazznearyou.com/www/html/templates/calendar/cal_related_cached.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/websites/allaboutjazz.com/www/html/content/article.php on line 68

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/data/websites/jazznearyou.com/www/html/templates/calendar/cal_related_cached.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php5:/data/websites/allaboutjazz.com/www/html:/usr/share/php') in /home/websites/allaboutjazz.com/www/html/content/article.php on line 68

More Articles

Read Flaneur CD/LP/Track Review Flaneur
by Jakob Baekgaard
Published: January 16, 2018
Read D'Agala CD/LP/Track Review D'Agala
by Troy Dostert
Published: January 16, 2018
Read Vertical CD/LP/Track Review Vertical
by Don Phipps
Published: January 16, 2018
Read In Stride CD/LP/Track Review In Stride
by Geno Thackara
Published: January 16, 2018
Read Solid Gold CD/LP/Track Review Solid Gold
by Jack Bowers
Published: January 15, 2018
Read Ts'iibil Chaaltun CD/LP/Track Review Ts'iibil Chaaltun
by Don Phipps
Published: January 15, 2018
Read "Sunset" CD/LP/Track Review Sunset
by Mark Corroto
Published: September 9, 2017
Read "The MUH Trio – Prague After Dark" CD/LP/Track Review The MUH Trio – Prague After Dark
by Karl Ackermann
Published: March 17, 2017
Read "The Dead Man" CD/LP/Track Review The Dead Man
by James Nadal
Published: April 4, 2017
Read "Lionsong" CD/LP/Track Review Lionsong
by David A. Orthmann
Published: April 18, 2017
Read "Black Diamond" CD/LP/Track Review Black Diamond
by Joe Gatto
Published: March 7, 2017
Read "United" CD/LP/Track Review United
by Mark Sullivan
Published: March 23, 2017