Home » Musicians » Discography » At Last


At Last

At Last by Ike Moriz
buy album

Ike Moriz

Label: Mosquito records London Pty Ltd.
Released: 2014
Duration: 51:46
Views: 199

Track Listing

The Devil Is Real In Your Mind; To Cape Town; Smooth And Nice; At Last; Forevermore; Señorita Blues; This Could Be Love; It Ain't Necessarily So; Think I'm A Millionaire; Until Their Lights Are Out (Alien Blues); Hound Dog; Disillusion Blues; Georgia On My Mind; These Eyes Are Not Yours; You Are My Sunshine


Ike Moriz
voice / vocals
Tonia Moller
voice / vocals
Roger Bashew
bass, electric
Gregory Schoeman
guitar, electric
Willem Moller
guitar, electric
Willie van Zyl

Additional Personnel / Information

Tonia Moller: Backing Vocals (tracks: 1, 3, 7); Roger Bashew: Bass Guitar (tracks: 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12); Paul Tizzard: Drums (tracks: 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12); Gregory Schoeman: Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar (tracks: 2, 7, 14); Paris Zannos: Engineer, Mixed By, Mastered By (tracks: 1- 15); Lars Pestrup: Graphic Design; A. Mc Pike: Keyboards (tracks: 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15); Willem Moller: Lead Guitar, Electric Guitar (tracks: 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12); Willie van Zyl: tenor saxophone, alto saxophone, clarinet (tracks: 4, 6, 11, 13, 15) ; Cover photography by "A Photographic Affair Cape Town"; Simon Orange: Piano, Electric Organ (tracks: 1-3, 5, 9, 10, 12); George Gershwin (tracks: 8), Harry Warren (tracks: 4), Hoagy Carmichael (tracks: 13), Horace Silver (tracks: 6), Ira Gershwin (tracks: 8), Jerry Leiber (tracks: 11), Mack Gordon (tracks: 4), Mike Stoller (tracks: 11), Oliver Hood (tracks: 15), Stuart Gorrell (tracks: 13): Songwriters; Ike Moriz: Songwriter, Composed By, Written By, Executive Producer (tracks: 1- 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14) Ike Moriz: Vocals, Arranged By, Piano, Keyboards, Acoustic Guitar, Bass, Backing Vocals, Lead Vocals. Recorded at Paris Studios, Fish Hoek, Cape Town, South Africa; Publishing: Ike Moriz (Mosquito Records London PTY Ltd); Sub – Publishing: Sheer Publishing in SA; Distribution: Jassics Music in SA; Barcode: 888174506364

Album Description

Ike Moriz takes the Blues to South Africa & brings it back to the world with a fresh new face! Since releasing his latest album in 2012, South Africa's international singing sensation Ike Moriz has written exciting new material in the blues rock genre for his 14th studio album to date - the title: 'AT LAST'. Moriz has taken the blues 'To Cape Town' - his home of choice (and the title of one of his new songs) at the southernmost tip of Africa where he rounded up some of the best musical talent the country has to offer to create his version of classic blues. Inspired by his recent marriage, the birth of his daughter and his tour through Southern Europe & Northern Africa, he has crafted an array of songs reflecting these experiences of the past 2 years. The album opens with a song that already sounds like it could be a classic blues standard: 'The Devil Is Real In Your Mind'. Minimalist, clear & strong lyrics with a highly dynamic arrangement to get Ike's message across. The song is followed by the aforementioned 'To Cape Town', an upbeat blues folk/rock song about arriving in Ike's hometown - one of the most beautiful cities in the world. If you are looking for Ike's typical tongue-in-cheek stories, then look out for 'Think I'm A Millionaire', 'Disillusion Blues' and 'Until Their Lights Are Out (Alien Blues)'. Besides his original songs we can also find a couple of covers in fresh new arrangements like Horace Silver's classic jazzy 'Señor Blues' with slightly altered lyrics to fit ike's message, as well as Gershwin's Porgy & Bess rebel 'It Ain't Necessarily So'. Moriz also breathes new life into the 1952 Elvis hit 'Hound Dog' and Hoagy Carmichael's standard 'Georgia On My Mind' with the incredibly gifted navy big band leader Willie van Zyl on saxophone and clarinet. The CD ends on a high note with a song that most parents have sung to their children: 'You Are My Sunshine' by Oliver Hood. The general theme of the album can be summarised with the words 'At Last'. Have a listen to find out why!


Album uploaded by Mosquito Records


Post a comment about this album

Shop Amazon

Album Reviews

Michael Bisio
The 7th Hand
Immanuel Wilkins
Break A Vase
Alexander Hawkins / Mirror Canon
Ilaria Capalbo
12 Stars
Melissa Aldana
Mark Lockheart

Song of the Day

Cody Carpenter
Grão de Areia
Abdallah Harati
Kristen Lee Sergeant
Regarding the Moon
Andrew Hadro

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.