Musician? Boost Your Visibility at All About Jazz

Upgrade your AAJ musician page from standard to premium and make your presence felt!

Maximize your visibility at All About Jazz by upgrading your musician page from standard to premium. With it, you'll receive All About Jazz home page exposure, a highly stylized / ad-free musician page with bonus features and benefits, an ad, plus you control where you sell your music and so much more.
Learn More

Mark Dresser Seven: Ain't Nothing But a Cyber Coup & You

Jerome Wilson BY

Sign in to view read count
Mark Dresser Seven: Ain't Nothing But a Cyber Coup & You
This is the second recording for the Mark Dresser Seven, a chamber jazz group led by bassist Mark Dresser with an unusual front line of flute, reeds, violin and trombone. Their first CD was highlighted by satiric social commentary and tributes to deceased colleagues. This new one follows the same pattern.

Two tributes bookend the CD. The opener, "Black Arthur's Bounce," is named for the late saxophonist Arthur Blythe. It's a collection of jumping solos by Nicole Mitchell's flute, Marty Ehrlich's alto, Michael Dessen's trombone and Joshua White's piano held loosely together by the erratic funk-shuffle beat of Dresser and drummer Jim Black. The closing piece, "Butch's Balm," is for pianist Butch Lacy. It is a somber work where lines of sedate piano and whispering percussion combine with low trombone and bass notes to lead the entire septet in a lush, dignified lament.

Some of Dresser's compositions are intricate sonic constructions that leave room for the band members room to stretch out and bring the music vividly to life. On "Embodied In Seoul," Dresser's frantic bowing creates a creaking whirlpool that flute, trombone and bass clarinet quietly penetrate. This leads to the front line exploding into a noisy rush of sobbing and moaning, with White's trilling piano as a contrasting voice. Dresser starts "Gloaming" with precise pizzicato bass before violinist Keir GoGwilt swoons in, introducing a simmering collage of attractive melodies. White's piano sounds particularly introspective here, Dessen blows slow, grand lines and Mitchell is a haunting presence.

The two political compositions come off both sarcastic and angry. "Let Them Eat Paper Towels" concerns President Trump's lack of response to Hurricane Maria's devastation of Puerto Rico. It starts with bass, violin and piano making scrambling noises that sound like an approaching storm. Then the music snaps into a prickly, broken rhythm laid out by Black. A lively but ominous group melody emerges, twisting flute, trombone, clarinet and violin together before everyone steps out with solo statements. "Ain't Nothing But A Cyber Coup" is a more general statement about the current state of things, a noisy jumble of heavy piano and screeching violin that leads into a fast, cartoonish theme pitched somewhere between Raymond Scott and Frank Zappa. .

Between these pieces, Dresser plays short abrasive solos on the McLagen Tines, an instrument made out of arranged steel rods that can sound like a groaning bass or a windswept calliope. These solos make for atmospheric introductions to the longer group works, particularly the roaring growls of "Pre-Coup" and the ghostly whistling of "Song Tine."

Mark Dresser's writing for this group is complex but the musicians imbue it with energy and drama. They can work up intense improvisational sweats or create beautiful moments of tenderness and emotion. Jim Black deserves a medal for the way he keeps the swirling madness around him focused while White, Mitchell and GoGwilt, in particular, continually excel in their soloing. This is a fine second effort from a formidable band.

Track Listing

Black Arthur’s Bounce; Pre-Gloam; Gloaming; Pre-Maria; Let Them Eat Paper Towels; Far; Embodied in Seoul; Pre-Coup; Ain’t Nothing But a Cyber Coup & You; Song Tine; Butch’s Balm.


Nicole Mitchell: flute, alto flute, piccolo; Marty Ehrlich: clarinet, bass clarinet, alto saxophone; Keir GoGwilt: violin; Michael Dessen: trombone; Joshua White: piano; Mark Dresser: double bass, McLagan Tines; Jim Black: drums, percussion.

Album information

Title: Ain't Nothing But a Cyber Coup & You | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Clean Feed Records

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Within Us
Chuck Owen and the Jazz Surge
Emma-Jean Thackray
Chick Corea Akoustic Band
Distant Voices
David Janeway
Two As One
Abbey Rader and John McMinn
Stepping Up
Simply This Quintet
Eightfold Path
Jeff Lederer


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.