Wako: Wako

Mark Sullivan By

Sign in to view read count
Wako: Wako
Bands will often self-title their debut album, as a kind of calling card to the world at large. But doing so on a fourth album implies a serious coming of age statement: this is really who we are. That is certainly the case here. Its third album, Urolige sinn (Øra Fonogram, 2018), was a blend of composed and improvised music: a collective voice, with a rare concision and focus. This album is entirely self-composed, with the bulk of the tracks credited to saxophonist Martin Myhre Olsen, and four others to pianist Kjetil Mulelid. There is also a long guest list, including a string trio on three selections.

The strings enter immediately on the opener, "For Those We Love," initially accompanied only by Mulelid's piano. The sound clearly signals that the album will not be business as usual. Before long the whole band has joined into the relentless, driving ostinato pattern. But there are carefully modulated dynamics as well, as the piece ends with quiet music like the beginning. "Wako Amok" pares the ensemble back to the core band, and finds the piano and Olsen's saxophone in almost free territory during the solos, accompanied by an equally liberated rhythm section. Not quite amok, but very high energy.

It is surprising to see a performer credited with the Roland RE-201 Space Echo, but Kyrre Laastad}s contributions on "Stjerneskipet" completely justifies it. Other highlights include Espen Reinertsen's saxophone, modular synthesizer and effects on the atmospheric "Le tapis volant;" high-profile guest Arve Henriksen's trumpet, synthesizer and sampling on the driving "Trakterer du musikk?" (one of Mulelid's most striking contributions); and Adrian Laseth Waad's violin, Rob Waring's vibraphone and Janas Kulhammar's Varitone saxophone on "Grown-up Life."

Mulelid's "Everything Comes To an End" finishes the album's official content with an Ornette Coleman-like theme. The Bonus material comprises three tracks, concluding with a final string trio appearance on Olsen's bop theme "Savage Detective." It is a feature for Olsen as a soloist, as well as an energetic finale to the program. A definitive statement for Wako as a band, and for Norwegian jazz.

Track Listing

For Those We Love; Wako Amok; Stjerneskipet; Brain Drain; Hele verden er en boble; Le tapis volant; Trakterer du musikk?; Dagdrømmeren; Grown-up Life; Everything Comes To an End; When Staring Into Light, We Think; Skumringsbeltet; Savage Detective.


Martin Myhre Olsen: saxophone, alto; Kjetil Mulelid: piano; Bárður Reinert Poulsen: bass, acoustic; Simon Olderskog Albertsen: drums; Rob Waring: vibraphone; Wako: band/orchestra.

Additional Instrumentation

Kaja Constanze Rogers, violin (1, 8, 13); Isa Caroline Holmesland, viola (1, 8, 13); Kaja Pettersen. cello (1, 8, 13); Kyrre Laastad: Roland RE-201 (3); Rob Waring: vibraphone (4, 9, 12); Espen Reinertsen: saxophone, modular synthesizer, effects (6); Arve Henriksen: trumpet, synthesizer, sampling (7); Janas Kulhammar: Varitone saxophone (9); Adrian Laseth Waade: violin (9, 13); Sissel Vera Pattersen: saxophone, voice (10).

Album information

Title: Wako | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Ora Fonogram

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


Keisuke Kishi
Old Souls
The KUH Trio
Other Worlds
Joe Lovano & Dave Douglas Soundprints
Mono No Aware
Roberto Pianca Sub Rosa
Live at NIR Studios
Georg Graewe, Kjell Nordeson, Jon Raskin Trio


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.