José Lencastre / Hernâni Faustino / Vasco Furtado: Vento

Mark Corroto By

Sign in to view read count
José Lencastre / Hernâni Faustino / Vasco Furtado: Vento
It would be interesting to learn the order in which the six tracks on this recording were laid down. Not so much that it would make for a better listening experience, because this is a thrilling debut, but it would give us clues into the organization and presentation of music by this new label, Phonogram Unit.

Saxophonist Jose Lencastre's trio includes Hernâni Faustino, a first-call bassist for musicians such as Luís Lopes, Rodrigo Amado and a member of the RED Trio and Lencastre's Nau Quartet. The trio is completed by drummer Vasco Furtado, who proves more than capable in keeping a pulse while originating all manner of percussive ideas.

Opening with "Here We Go," a complete meal of improvised music, the trio works through varying time signatures, solos and instrumental techniques. Faustino begins with fat plucked notes, eventually employing energized bowing, while Lencastre pecks notes and Furtado relies on a cowbell entrance that grows into a furious pulse from his whole kit. The opening track at 12+ minutes is an entire there-and-back excursion. Should it have been sequenced at the end of this disc? Maybe, or just maybe the trio has more in store.

"Abstração" is a brief overblown saxophone statement with scraping and rattle percussion and the honeyed pulse of bass. The trio can work the busy side of improvisation "Test Drive" with its intensity or mine a quiet minimal listening experience with "Ruínas." Ending with the title track, the musicians reach an equal balance of sound. Their gentlemen's agreement allows any of the three to push and stretch in any direction and the others will accommodate.

Track Listing

Here We Go; Abstração; Test Drive; Keep Going; Ruínas; Vento.


Jose Lencastre: saxophone, alto; Hernâni Faustino: bass, acoustic; Vasco Furtado: drums.

Album information

Title: Vento | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Phonogram Unit

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Read Mazel Tov Kocktail!
Mazel Tov Kocktail!
Ira B. Liss Big Band Jazz Machine
Read Twilight
U.S.E. Trio
Read Play On
Play On
Out To Dinner
Read Auge
Aki Takase

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.