Home » Jazz Articles » Emma-Jean Thackray: Um Yang

Album Review

Emma-Jean Thackray: Um Yang


Sign in to view read count
Emma-Jean Thackray: Um Yang
Right now, in summer 2020, using new and recent releases as the yardstick, the two most exciting musicians on London's alternative jazz scene are trumpeters. One is Laura Jurd, whose recent To The Earth (Edition) is a high-water mark for her electro-acoustic band, Dinosaur. The other is Emma-Jean Thackray, whose EP Um Yang is also remarkable. Jurd is the longer established musician, having released three albums with Dinosaur since 2016. Thackray's first release came two years later, and she has yet to put out a full-length album, but her work as a DJ on Worldwide FM has boosted her profile.

So far, everything Thackray has released has been adventurous and thrilling. Her music, which combines electric-era Miles Davis with new millennial electronicism, free improv with groove and cerebralism with visceralism, is in a state permament evolution and Um Yang is a further step forward.

The EP is a two-track affair with a running time of 19 minutes (not counting the radio edits). Um yang is the Korean version of Chinese Taoist yin yang, and the two tracks are structured on that basis, effectively working as mirror images of each other. The slightly longer "Um" starts like an out-take from Davis' In A Silent Way (Columbia, 1969), before morphing into an entrancing drums and percussion groove which is totally 2020. The track steadily builds in intensity, with saxophonist Soweto Kinch, on tenor, growing increasingly far out. "Yang" opens with thirty seconds of noise that might have been created by saxophonist Albert Ayler and trumpeter Donald Ayler for ESP in the early 1960s. Kinch, on alto, once more leads the ensemble, but this time in the opposite direction, towards a (shhh/)peaceful conclusion.

Track Listing

Um (Radio Edit); Yang (Radio Edit); Um; Yang.


Emma-Jean Thackray: multi-instrumentalist; Soweto Kinch: saxophone; Lyle Barton: keyboards; Ben Kelly: sousaphone; Dwayne Kilvington: percussion; Crispin Robinson: percussion; Dougal Taylor: drums.

Additional Instrumentation

Emma-Jean Thackray: trumpet, voice, percussion.

Album information

Title: Um Yang | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Night Dreamer

Post a comment about this album



Brooklyn Calling
Stan Killian
Andromeda's Mystery
Doruzka Wylzot Ballard
Boiling Point
Gordon Grdina's Nomad Trio


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.