Hilmar Jensson: Transparence

Mike Jurkovic By

Sign in to view read count
Hilmar Jensson: Transparence
Given that not one of the eight tracks definingTransparence, the darkly compelling debut from Norway's HITRA, runs longer than six minutes, the quartet covers a lot of ground. Like a ticket out of isolation, Transparence transports your homebound head to the grey expanse of Northern Atlantic skies. Billowing by design, their clouds of music make you feel like you're floating above rain shadows and fjords.

Bonding together at Oslo's Norwegian Academy of Music, Hitra pairs Italian pianist Alessandro Sgobbio, and Iceland's guitar legend Hilmar Jensson, with Norwegian bassist Jo Berger Myhre, and drummer {{Øyvind Skarbø}, to create a quartet that make it their thesis not to leave any shadow un-exposed.

There's a good deal to be absorbed on Transparence and be absorbed into. Minimalist to the nth degree, Sgobbio's opening interlude "Lebtit" fractures the silence with the pulsing hum of the binary code while waves of Jensson's dreamily reverbed guitar define the human element. When Jensson's dominating, yet skittish guitar crunch and Sgobbio's jabbing piano threaten to pull "Sêtu" apart, the rhythm section holds firm, massaging the piece to a quieter, more needed consolation.

Myhre's sliding solo cries center "The Perfect Light Of Sandstad" and, in vastly cinematic terms, carries you out over the hundreds of islands and skerries that create Hitra, Norway's largest municipality. Over large stretches of quiet and turbulence we are led into the fluid, elegiac worlds of "Cité Des Poètes" and the defiant "Labtayt." Both performances serve as deep dives into the group's collective, explorative philosophy. By delicately balancing light and dark, the closing thriller "Lebenslauf" is all emotional tension and release as each player allows the other their space and time.

Track Listing

Lebtit; Sêtu; Künftiges; The Perfect Light Of Sandstad; Cité Des Poètes; Labtayt; To See Was To Be; Lebenslauf.


HITRA: author; Alessandro Sgobbio: piano; Hilmar Jensson: guitar; Jo Berger Myhre: bass; Oyvind Skarbo: drums.

Album information

Title: Transparence | Year Released: 2021 | Record Label: Amp Music & Records

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


A Centering Peace
Brian Woodruff Sextet
Five Down Blues
Kyle Asche Organ trio
Long Tall Sunshine
Barry Altschul's 3Dom Factor
Wonderful World
Chris Standring
Tomas Liska & Invisible World


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.