Simon Nabatov: Time Labyrinth

Glenn Astarita By

Sign in to view read count
Simon Nabatov: Time Labyrinth
Pianist Simon Nabatov is well-known for his explosive semi-structured presentations and freely navigated improvisational advances within this seemingly limitless musical space. But Nabatov is a composer who often stretches the perceived limits of avant-garde jazz. With this effort, he pursues a largely new approach by employing chamberesque forums via an acoustic-electric platform, intensified by consummate woodwind aces Frank Gratkowski, Matthias Schubert and other stalwarts to round out a drummer-less Germany-based septet.

In the liners, the leader states that time is "THE category every human life and also every piece of music deal with." Nabatov also provides a rundown of each track. Nonetheless, the artist makes some bold moves by using space, minimalistic noise-shaping mechanisms, disparate sounds, and alien-like conversations, intersecting avant chamber choruses and unwinding plots, as the soloists often pepper each other during improv segments. On "Metamorph" the band's fidgety and globular dialogues conjure notions of trying to exit a maze in tandem with deconstruction efforts and fadeouts. But "Reader" is an about face of sorts, largely due to Frank Gratkowski's poignant flute passages, spurring a late-night modern jazz vibe, tempered with wraithlike qualities and pensive balladry, topped off by Hans W. Koch's fleeting synth lines and bizarre excursions with the flutist.

Each piece consists of a signature modus operandi, often expanded with building blocks, free form motifs, heavy improvisational encounters, and renegade chamber discourses. Some of these attributes ring loud on the final track, "Choral." Here, the ensemble invokes a roomy atmosphere amid gradual progressions and the hornists' torrential downpours. In the liners, Nabatov suggests it's a feelgood composition, as an animated ebb and flow sows a rambunctious escapade, heightened by his whirlwind, superspeed phrasings akin to a pro fighter's unrelenting combinations on his way to a victorious knockout!

Track Listing

Waves; Metamorph; Reader; Right Off; Repeated; Choral.


Simon Nabatov: piano; Frank Gratkowski: woodwinds; Melvin Poore: tuba; Matthias Schubert: saxophone, tenor; Shannon Barnett: trombone; Dieter Manderscheid: bass, acoustic; Hans W. Koch: synthesizer.

Album information

Title: Time Labyrinth | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Leo Records

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Read Freya
Tineke Postma
Read Unearth
New Hermitage
Read Deep Resonance
Deep Resonance
Ivo Perelman
Read Sun Trance
Sun Trance
Markus Reuter
Read Lies
Clemens Kuratle Murmullo
Read Prism
Conference Call
Read Palo Alto
Palo Alto
Thelonious Monk

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.