Home » Jazz Articles » Frederick Galiay: Time Elleipsis

Album Review

Frederick Galiay: Time Elleipsis


Sign in to view read count
Frederick Galiay: Time Elleipsis
This largely electric French quintet discloses a vastly experimental and often fascinating series of works that intertwine into a multipart suite of indexed titles directed by bassist Frederick Galiay. As the press material states, the bassist "was a laureate for a Hors les murs residency program initiated by the French Institute," spanning Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, and Myanmar. Here, the musicians explore subterranean depths via shadowy sonic textures and on the opener "Naga Convulsions," venture into electronic minimalist terrain amid the semblances of low gravity enactments and avant-garde death metal incidences. Hence, the band seems as though it is providing a soundtrack for the discovery of a sunken middle ages frigate buried in the Atlantic Ocean.

"Luasamia | Points Cardinaux" features a torrential downpour of Sébastien Brun and Franck Vaillant's rumbling drum patterns and electric guitarist Jean-Sébastien Mariage's distortion-based crunch chords along with the quintet's free form noise-sculpting techniques. Add the leader's monster bass lines and colossal background effects and you get the sense that a catastrophic event is in the making. But "Nirmanakaya | Dhyana" is framed on a balls to the wall type improvised punk groove, akin to some of Sonic Youth guitarist Thurston Moore's radical solo albums. Moreover, electric baritone saxophonist Antoine Viard's raspy intonations and Mariage's placid voicings are countered by the drummers' barbaric gong hits and swooshing cymbals splashes.

The presentation is slightly altered by the sax and bass led four-note theme on "Dharmakaya | Oieseaux Terrifants," atop pulsating rhythms and thrash rock style snippets, while descending into a cavernous ancient temple for some soul cleansing initiatives. And of course, this is not background music; it demands critical listening as the musicians execute a semi-structured post-modern muse with antiquated implications and a vivid aural cinema for one's psyche.

Track Listing

Nâga convulsions; Sentence | Samsara; Luasamla | Points cardinaux; Saneu kham Samout; Nirmanakâyâ | Dhyâna; Dharmakâya - Oiseaux terrifiants; Sukha.


Frederick Galiay: bass, electric; Antoine Viard: saxophone, baritone; Jean-Sebastien Mariage: guitar, electric; Julien Boudart: synthesizer; Sebastien Brun: drums; Franck Vaillant: drums.

Additional Instrumentation

Antoine Viard: electrified baritone saxophone; Sébastien Brun: acoustic and electronic percussion sets; Sébastien Brun: acoustic and electronic percussion sets.

Album information

Title: Time Elleipsis | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Ayler Records

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter Since 1995, shortly after the dawn of the internet, All About Jazz has been a champion of jazz, supporting it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to rigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Post a comment about this album



The Sound Of Listening
Mark Guiliana Jazz Quartet
At The Royal Albert Hall
Creedence Clearwater Revival
Two Centuries
Qasim Naqvi / Wadada Leo Smith / Andrew Cyrille


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.