Home » Jazz Articles » Jason Palmer: The Concert: 12 Musings for Isabella


Album Review

Jason Palmer: The Concert: 12 Musings for Isabella


Sign in to view read count
Jason Palmer: The Concert: 12 Musings for Isabella
On March 18, 1990, two thieves went into the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston and made off with thirteen works of art, paintings and drawings by masters such as Rembrandt, Degas and Vermeer plus a couple of antique artifacts. To this day, the works have never been recovered and the museum still keeps the empty frames that held them on its walls. One day trumpeter Jason Palmer visited the museum and noticed the empty frames. He eventually learned the story of the theft, researched the missing paintings, which can be seen online, and composed a suite of music for them, heard here in a 2019 live concert recorded in New York.

The music is performed by an excellent quintet, with Palmer joined by Mark Turner on tenor saxophone, Joel Ross on vibraphone, Edward Perez on bass and Kendrick Scott on drums. Ross' brittle but dreamlike vibes form a malleable middle layer between the sharp rippling of the horns and the spiky rumblings of the rhythm section. The compositions cover a variety of moods, conveying Palmer's impressions of the various paintings. "La Sortie de Pesage" has the horns blowing softly in unison on a laid-back melody, with Ross embellishing their sound before plowing into his own luminous solo. "Christ in the Storm on the Lake of Galilee" slowly builds from Scott's rattling solo introduction to a slow r'n'b groove, adding Perez, and finally into a faster tempo with the entire group which contrasts Ross' languid elegance with broad swooping and rolling by the trumpet and tenor.

"A French Imperial Eagle" is a frolicsome samba featuring Palmer in especially passionate form. "Program for an Artistic Soiree" and "Self Portrait" are notable for the drily cool and subdued melodies Palmer and Turner twist and tumble through, like dancers, before soloing with graceful fire. Perez' and Scott's subtly driving support is also outstanding here. "Landscape with an Obelisk" moves from placid calm through a rumbling drum interlude to explosive and relentless unison horn play. "Three Mounted Jockeys" rides the set out, with Palmer and Turner essaying lyrical runs over a constantly moving rhythmic vamp.

The members of this quintet mesh very well together. Palmer and Turner make great foils for each other. Perez and Scott are an elastic and adaptable rhythm section and Joel Ross provides illumination and accents which give the music a special buoyancy. Inspired by works of art, Jason Palmer has created a suite of music which stands up as outstanding art in its own right.

Track Listing

CD 1: A Lady and Gentleman in Black (Rembrandt); Cortege and Environs do Florence (Degas); La Sortie de Pesage (Degas); Christ in the Storm on the Lake of Galilee (Rembrandt); A French Imperial Eagle Finial; Chez Tortoni (Manet). CD 2: Program for an Artistic Soiree (Degas); An Ancient Chinese Gu; The Concert (Vermeer); Landscape with an Obelisk (Flinck); Self Portrait (Rembrandt); Three Mounted Jockeys (Degas).


Jason Palmer: trumpet; Mark Turner: saxophone, tenor; Joel Ross: vibraphone; Edward Perez: bass, acoustic; Kendrick Scott: drums.

Album information

Title: The Concert: 12 Musings for Isabella | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Giant Steps Art

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



The Way To You
Sara Caswell
Retrato Anos Despues
Emiliano Aires & Santiago Bogacz
Crustal Movement
Kaze & Ikue Mori


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.