Home » Search Center » Results: Armored Records

Results for "Armored Records"

Advanced search options



Label: Armored Records
Released: 2021
Track listing: Not Before Noon, Laws, Moments, Spancil Hill, Sight, Waiting, If Lyle met Lilly.


Song of the Day


Duration: 8:43

Results for pages tagged "Armored Records"...


Jake Hanlon


Jake Hanlon is a Guitarist, Composer, and Educator based in Atlantic Canada where he maintains an active career as a performer and educator frequently performing with regional and international acts.

Hanlon released Follow and Autumn Song, both nominated for Jazz Recording of the Year by the ECMA. He is a member of Dual Chromatic, who's live album "Into the Pale" is scheduled to be released in the Spring of 2019.

Hanlon is an Assistant Professor of Music at Saint Francis Xavier University in Antigonish Nova Scotia and has been a member of the Faculty of Music since 2008



Label: Armored Records
Released: 2019
Track listing: Swirl; Steady Comin’ At Ya; Red Velvet Cake; A Bela; Symmetricity In The Linear Evolution; You, and You Alone, Missed It By An Inch; Here’s that Rainy Day; ‘Trane-ing Wheels; Norm’s View.


Article: Album Review

Shawn Purcell: Symmetricity

Read "Symmetricity" reviewed by Geannine Reid

Guitarist Shawn Purcell has enjoyed a busy career with 15 years as a member of the military Big Bands in Washington DC. From 1996-2004, he was the guitarist in the US Air Force premier jazz ensemble, The Airmen of Note. During his time with “The Note," Purcell performed throughout the world, including England, Germany, Turkey, Luxembourg, ...


Article: Album Review

William Flynn: The Songbook Project

Read "The Songbook Project" reviewed by Don Phipps

The Songbook Project from guitarist William Flynn provides jazz enthusiasts with great arrangements of some top-flight songs from the popular music catalog. On this album, one can hear jazz versions of music by the Smashing Pumpkins, Oasis, Radiohead, Nine Inch Nails, and Jewel. The musicians all add color to the music. “Tonight Tonight" opens ...


Easy Living

Label: Armored Records
Released: 2017
Track listing: What a Little Moonlight Can Do; Comes Love; Alice in Wonderland; Love for Sale; Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow; Your Red Wagon; Last Night When We Were Young; Get Happy; You Don’t know What Love Is; Ding Dong! The Witch is Dead; Easy Living.


Where the Blue Begins

Label: Armored Records
Released: 2017
Track listing: Destination Moon; Moon and Sand; Lullaby of the Leaves; You Stepped Out of a Dream; This Bitter Earth; Old Devil Moon; Darn that Dream; No Moon at All; The Nearness of You; Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams; Weaver of Dreams; Stairway to the Stars.


Article: Multiple Reviews

A Sense of Place

Read "A Sense of Place" reviewed by Geno Thackara

Music itself may be universal, but the circumstances of its birthplace (or places) so often aren't. Overt or otherwise, it can be fascinating how those factors don't just shape a recording, but become vital elements in themselves. Yukari Synchronic QFTF 2017 There's no place like home ...


Article: Album Review

Darden Purcell: Easy Living

Read "Easy Living" reviewed by C. Michael Bailey

Working backwards, I discovered DC-area jazz vocalist and educator Darden Purcell with her second recording, Where the Blue Begins (Armored Records, 2016). It was an impressive recital with the nominal theme of twilight winding through its repertoire. While less thematically focused, Easy Living remains a well programmed set of eleven standards, “My Funny Valentine" thankfully not ...


Contest Giveaways
Enter our latest contest giveaway sponsored by Musicians Performance Trust Fund
Polls & Surveys
Vote for your favorite musicians and participate in our brief surveys.
Publisher's Desk
Navigation Bar Additions & Following Musicians
Read on...

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.