Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Mopo: Mopocalypse

Anthony Shaw By

Sign in to view read count
Mopo, the Finnish trio from Helsinki, have now been on the scene since 2009, and since 2011 winning their selection round for the Young Nordic Comets competition, have been performing their brand of quirky and frequently funky jazz around Europe. Their fourth full length album continues their punk inspired attitude to music making with eight tracks of largely energetic hard jazz.

The first tracks "Tökkö" and "My Best Friend" feature Eero Tikkanen playing an elderly electric bass, creating a raunchy mix contrasting the other unadulterated acoustic sounds where a repeated bass line is worked to the limit, coming close to compulsive. With the addition of a guesting Farfisa organ on "Noita" (Witch), this insistent repetition, combined with prime writer, saxophonist Linda Fredriksson's funky solo becomes positively disturbing, but ends with a few bars of light relief!

Compared with their last recording, Beibe, this album is more forthright, less experimental. Not that they don't do lyrical, as in the fourth track "Mustafa," with Nieminen's rolling drums behind Fredriksson's sparse precise alto and Tikkanen's steady but pleasingly wandering bass lines. "Sinut muistan ainijan" (You, I'll remember always) is likewise a wistful ode with delicate soloing from the two melody instruments.

The band is as tight and jokey as ever, and their idiosyncratic attitude to music making is featured in the album sleeve, which includes a minute by minute account of their 24-hour marathon around Helsinki in 2017, playing venues from the steps of the Parliament building to some very unhip karaoke bars. Fredriksson points out here that fatigue-induced indolence and physical exhaustion caused her to reduce the number of notes played. Maybe this has introduced a slightly more spartan sound to the band, and Mopo's direction is more straight forward. But when it comes to the album title, you must choose yourself whether to believe its definition in the Urbandictionary: "A slew of funny and/or poor taste motivational posters (mopo) relating to a significant series of related, and often disasterous, events."

Track Listing: Tökkö; My Best Friend; Riisto; Ruusu; Mustafa; Niin aikaisin; Sinut muistan ainiaan; Noita; Panama.

Personnel: Linda Fredriksson: baritone saxophone, alto saxophone;Eero Tikkanen: double bass, electric bass, violin; Eeti Nieminen: drums, percussion, syntheziser; Otto Eskelinen: Farfisa: organ.

Title: Mopocalypse | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: We Jazz Records



comments powered by Disqus


Start your shopping here and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Absinthe Album Reviews
By Mark Sullivan
March 18, 2019
Read Chi Album Reviews
By John Ephland
March 18, 2019
Read The Time Is Now Album Reviews
The Time Is Now
By David A. Orthmann
March 18, 2019
Read Road To The Sun Album Reviews
Road To The Sun
By Dan McClenaghan
March 18, 2019
Read Rosa Parks: Pure Love. An Oratorio of Seven Songs Album Reviews
Rosa Parks: Pure Love. An Oratorio of Seven Songs
By John Sharpe
March 18, 2019
Read Hyperuranion Album Reviews
By Dan McClenaghan
March 17, 2019
Read Nuevo Valso Album Reviews
Nuevo Valso
By Friedrich Kunzmann
March 17, 2019