Soft Machine: Live At The Baked Potato

Chris May By

Sign in to view read count
Soft Machine: Live At The Baked Potato
Live At The Baked Potato was recorded in Los Angeles in 2019 as part of Soft Machine's 50th Anniversary Tour. (Fact check: 2019 was the band's 53rd and this lineup's fourth anniversary). The latest album is a lot of fun even though it bears little resemblance to the music of the revolutionary 1966 -1969 lineups featuring Mike Ratledge on keyboards and flute, Robert Wyatt on drums and vocals, Kevin Ayers on guitar, bass guitar and vocals, Daevid Allen on guitar and vocals, and, from late 1968, Hugh Hopper on guitar, bass guitar and saxophone. Each member of the original lineup was also heard on acid.

First, the band... This is the 22nd Soft Machine lineup (give or take). It has released one previous album, Hidden Details (Dyad, 2018), on which eight of the twelve tunes on Live At The Baked Potato also appeared. None of the four current band members were part of the first ten (1966—1971) lineups. Drummer John Marshall, bass guitarist Roy Babbington and guitarist John Etheridge each joined during the early to mid 1970s. The newest recruit, saxophonist and keyboardist Theo Travis, joined in 2015, though he was in Soft Machine Legacy from 2006—2009. But let us save the dozen or so spin-off bands with Soft in their names for another fact fest.

Next, the album... Given Soft Machine's history, there is no reason why the 2020 lineup should sound anything like the 1966-1969 ones, which were intensely and quirkily trippy. And if it did sound like them, it would in all likelihood be a copyist / revivalist outfit flogging a dead mojo. Live At The Baked Potato, on the other hand, has life aplenty and is riotously enjoyable. The band is hardwired, improvisation is high-calibre, and the music rocks out. The disc moves across a variety of moods and atmospheres during its one-hour playing time but the take-home impression is one of grit and riffs. Around half the tunes are band classics written by Mike Ratledge, Hugh Hopper and keyboardist and saxophonist Karl Jenkins, who joined in 1972. The new material is mostly written by John Etheridge and Theo Travis.

A trip down memory lane. Sort of.

Track Listing

Out-Bloody-Intro; Out-Bloody-Rageous; Sideburn; Hazard Profile; Kings And Queens; The Tale Of Taliesin; Heart Off Guard; Broken Hill; Fourteen Hour Dream; The Man Who Waved At Trains; Life On Bridges; Hidden Details.


John Etheridge: guitar; Theo Travis: saxophone, tenor; Roy Babbington: bass, electric; John Marshall: drums.

Additional Instrumentation

Theo Travis plays tenor saxophone (4, 11, 12), soprano saxophone (2, 7), flute (5, 9, 10) and Fender Rhodes (1, 6).

Album information

Title: Live At The Baked Potato | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Dyad

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


J. Peter Schwalm & Markus Reuter
Liudas Mockūnas / Arvydas Kazlauskas
Chapter One
Marieke Koopman
Gerald Cleaver


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.