Home » Jazz Articles » Jerry Vivino, Ken Burns Jazz, Quincy Jones and More


Radio & Podcasts

Jerry Vivino, Ken Burns Jazz, Quincy Jones and More


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

The long-time member of Conan O'Brien's Basic Cable Band Mr. Jerry Vivino kicks off this week's episode with music from his latest album Coast to Coast recorded with his good friend and legendary jazz cat Bucky Pizzarelli. From there, we move into another great album by the Organ Jazz Trio, a Kansas City institution led by the hearty leader Kenny Lovern. From there, the hour goes on with the dynamic and legendary duo of Thad Jones and Mel Lewis off their 1969 classic album Central Park North. We also have a friend of the show and a great cat from Canada in Al Muirhead with the song Four Brothres off his latest 2018 CD Undertones.

As this hour gains steam, we visit the New York Standards Quartet and we profile the legendary Fletcher Henderson from the Ken Burns Jazz Documentary in 2000. We round the hour up with the one and only Quincy Jones and we talk the Netflix documentary on his life.


  • Jerry Vivino "Spud Time" Coast to Coast (BlueJazz) 00:00
  • Host talks 5:35
  • Bucky Pizzarelli "Three Little Words" Live at the Vineyard (Challenge Jazz) 9:33
  • Ken Lovern & OJT "Rooftop Blues" New Originals for the Green Lady(Jazz Daddy Records) 12:32
  • Host talks 17:00
  • Thad Jones and Mel Lewis "Quietude" Central Park Northl (Blue Note Records) 18:20
  • Peter Schlamb "Brew Year" Electric Tinks (Peter Schlamb) 23:08
  • Host talks 25:06
  • Al Muirhead "Four Brothers" Undertones (Chronograph Records / Fontana North) 26:29
  • New York Standards Quartet "Tonight" Heaven Steps to Seven (Whirlwind Recordings) 29:46
  • Host talks 35:49
  • Fletcher Henderson "Can You Take It"Ken Burns Jazz (Legacy Recordings) 36:20
  • Carlos Averhoff Jr. "Yes or No" IQba (Inner Circle Music)—39:17
  • Host talks 45:12
  • Chucho Valdes "The Clown" Jazz Batá 2 (Mack Avenue Recordings)—46:13
  • Host talks 52:13
  • Quincy Jones "Cherokee" Birth of the Band (Mercury Records) 53:40

Post a comment

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


View events near Kansas City
Jazz Near Kansas City
Events Guide | Venue Guide | Local Businesses | More...

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.