Matt Wilson: Hug!

Jack Bowers By

Sign in to view read count
Matt Wilson: Hug!
While there are a number of red-letter moments on drummer Matt Wilson's latest album, Hug!, and others that are rather less so, the earnestness is high throughout as everyone in Wilson's seasoned quartet does his best to ensure its success. That success, however, rests in part on the music itself, and therein lies the down side.

As noted, there are definite highs—Abdullah Ibrahim's lively "Jabulani," Dewey Redman's sunny "Joie de Vivre," Roger Miller's charming "King of the Road," Wilson's melodious "Hambe Kahle" all please the ear. On the other hand, the quartet misses the mark on Wilson's clamorous "Sunny and Share," which sprints nowhere in particular before crashing to a sudden stop, and although Wilson's parody of Donald Trump's nonsensical "Space Force" is admirable, the march that accompanies it ("Interplanetary Music," complete with group vocal) is tedious. Other numbers fall somewhere in between: Gene Ammons' "The One Before This," Charlie Haden's "In the Moment," and Wilson's "Hug!," "Man Bun" and "Every Day with You."

The title selection adds (unnamed) strings to the core group (Wilson, saxophonist Jeff Lederer, cornetist Kirk Knuffke, bassist Chris Lightcap) to underscore its likable melody. Lederer moves to clarinet on "King of the Road," whose tempo and ambience are perfect, as is Lightcap's sturdy bass work. Likewise, Knuffke's cornet and Lederer's soprano sax are a perfect match on "Hambe Kahle" (which means "goodbye" in an unspecified language; Hawaiian, perhaps?). Ammons' "The One Before This," which opens the session, is a garden-variety bopper with admirable solos by all hands, Haden's "In the Moment" a bristling flag-waver that tests everyone's chops. Knuffke, Lederer and Lightcap design engaging solos on "Joie de Vivre." A few more numbers like that wouldn't have been amiss.

On any Wilson-led album, a high level of musicianship is a given. While Hug! is no exception to that rule, the music doesn't always measure up to that standard. But when it does, there are more than a few gratifying moments of charm and pleasure.

Track Listing

The One Before This; Jabulani; In The Moment; Every Day with You; Space Force March/Interplanetary Music; Joie De Vivre; Sunny and Share; Hug! King Of The Road; Man Bun; Hambe Kahle.


Matt Wilson: drums; Jeff Lederer: saxophone; Chris Lightcap: bass; Kirk Knuffke: cornet.

Additional Instrumentation

Jeff Lederer: clarinet, piccolo, voice; Kirk Knuffke: voice; Chris Lightcap: voice; Matt Wilson: xylophone, voice.

Album information

Title: Hug! | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Palmetto Records

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Another Land
Dave Holland
Native Sons
Los Lobos
Dewa Budjana
The Last Call
Larry Coryell & Philip Catherine
Palette of Feelings
Karolis Šarkus
A Centering Peace
Brian Woodruff Sextet
Five Down Blues
Kyle Asche Organ trio


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.