Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Jari Haapalainen Trio: Fusion Machine


Jari Haapalainen Trio: Fusion Machine


View read count
Jari Haapalainen Trio: Fusion Machine
Short sharp shocks, describes the music of Fusion Machine. The twenty-eight minutes of sound is Jari Haapalainen's knuckle sandwich of a recording. Actually it's thirteen jabs, hooks, and uppercuts; let's call them the track list. The disc contains no composition longer than two minutes-fifty, the shortest, "Flykten Från Djursholm" (Escape From Djursholm), is just 1:34.

The Jari Haapalainen Trio performs a familiar type of compressed mayhem, a sort of punk haiku music that draws as much from the Minutemen as it does from Louis Armstrong's 78 gramophone sides that lasted the equivalent length of "Risk För Halka" (Risk Of Slipping). Opening with the drum break, the piece ignites with funk/rock bass and brawny saxophone into a speed freak tangle. Haapalainen, who occupies the drum seat here, is known to play guitar in the indie rock/punk outfit The Bear Quartet and has produced the popular band, The International Noise Conspiracy. What Haapalainen does best here is mash the energy of garage rock, a thumping baseline of Daniel Bingert with the talents of saxophonist Per 'Texas' Johansson. Only a badass would have the name of Texas, and make that a double badass for a Scandinavian. Johansson can be heard in Mats Gustafsson's Fire! Orchestra, Torbjorn Zetterberg's Hot Five, and Barry Guy's The Blue Shroud. His saxophone withstands, or is it defies(?), the onslaught of drum and electric bass matching the quick shifts with strapping notes. The trio works speed-freak sounds "Flykten Från Djursholm," a hardcore ballad "Ingrid 15," some stomping funk "Jag Har Fångat Ett Troll," monster rock "Heavy Metal Americano," and the tightest of tightrope walking pieces "Ingrid 20," a showcase for Johansson's breath control. This trio revives the jukebox smash hit (delete extra space) with a wallop.

Track Listing

Risk För Halka; Flykten Från Djursholm; Jag Vill Inte Gå Hem; Ingrid 15; Jag Har Fångat Ett Troll; Heavy Metal Americano; Begynnelsen; Ich Bin Ein Berliner; Månlandaren; Ingrid 20; Mörka Rummet; Skotten I Copacabana; Systemet I Hovsjö.


Jari Haapalainen: drums; Per ‘Texas’ Johansson: tenor saxophone; Daniel Bingert: electric bass guitar.

Album information

Title: Fusion Machine | Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: Moserobie



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



The Island
Kasper Rietkerk
More Human
Splashgirl + Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe
Kenny Reichert
Threeway with special guest John Etheridge


My Prophet
Oded Tzur
Time Again
Koppel, Blade, Koppel
September Night
Tomasz Stanko Quartet

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.