Jocelyn Gould: Elegant Traveler

Dan McClenaghan By

Sign in to view read count
Guitarist Jocelyn Gould opens her debut album, Elegant Wanderer, with a cooker: Cole Porter's "It's All Right With Me." The tune is artfully arranged for quartet—piano and guitar with bass and drums—and Gould displays some serious chops. She has soaked up the influences of Wes Montgomery, Grant Green, Kenny Burrell and Joe Pass, and she wears that collective mainstream, swinging attitude on her sleeve, not only stylistically, but also in her sense of the joy of creation.

Gould's original tune "Kindling" swings easy and smooth, with an unwavering elegance and good taste and an embrace of the jazz guitar tradition. The album includes seven of her own well-crafted tunes, along with three nicely chosen covers—Duke Ellington's "All Too Soon" and Richard Rodgers' "It Might As Well be Spring" joining the Cole Porter opener to bring in just the right amount of familiarity to the proceedings.

In addition to her quartet renderings, Gould goes solo on "It Might As Well Be Spring," for a lovely and soulful acoustic interlude leading into her original, "Change In Plans," expanding her line-up with the inclusion of trumpeter Anthony Stanco and trombonist Michael Dease, bringing something of an Art Blakey vibe to the affair.

"In A Daydream," with trombonist Michael Dease sitting in again, lets Gould shine a light on her ballad playing, which is polished and patient, relaxed in a no wasted notes mode, while "Gamechanger" proves itself a beautiful rumination on wee hours blues.

Closing with Ellington's "All Too Soon," Gould opens the tune with an eloquent solo intro before the band whispers in behind her, and Stanco adds a mid-sixties Blue Note Records atmosphere on trumpet, to wrap up a fine debut from a rising star guitarist.

Track Listing

It's All Right With Me; Kindling; Center Of The Universe; It Might As Well Be Spring; Change Of Plans; A Fleeting Moment; Argyle; In A Daydream; The Game Changer; All Too Soon.


Jocelyn Gould: guitar; Addison Frei: piano; George Delancy: bass, acoustic; Quincy Davis: drums.

Michael Dease: trombone (5, 7, 8); Antony Stanco: trumpet (5, 7, 10); Brandon Wright: tenor saxophone (3, 7).

Album information

Title: Elegant Traveler | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Posi-Tone Records



Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and through our retail affiliations you'll support us in the process.


Rare vinyl LPs and CDs from over 1,000 independent sellers


CDs, Vinyl, Blu-Ray DVDS, Prime membership, Alexa, SONOS and more


Specializing in high resolution and CD-quality downloads


Specializing in music, movies and video games


Marketplace for new, used, and vintage instruments and gear


Read Angels Around
Angels Around
Kurt Rosenwinkel Trio
Read The Coandă Effect
The Coandă Effect
Tim Berne and Nasheet Waits