Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Charles Pillow Large Ensemble: Electric Miles


Charles Pillow Large Ensemble: Electric Miles


Sign in to view read count
Charles Pillow Large Ensemble: Electric Miles
So how does trumpeter Miles Davis' post-1969 "electric period" translate to a big-band format? About as well as could be expected, thanks to leader Charles Pillow's bright arrangements for his New York-based Large Ensemble. Davis' seminal Columbia albums from 1969-1972—In a Silent Way, Bitches Brew, Live at Fillmore East, Live-Evil, On the Corner—are considered by many to have ushered in the jazz / rock / fusion era, which could be a good thing or otherwise, depending on one's point of view.

While opinions may vary as to the course Davis and others chose to pursue, it's clear he was into something new, much as Parker, Gillespie and their peers were a quarter-century or more before with the introduction of bebop, which turned the jazz world on its head. Davis was an integral part of that movement as well but chose to veer elsewhere, carving a new niche for himself and fellow-travelers such as Wayne Shorter, Joe Zawinul and others, one that may not have pleased many of those steeped in more customary forms of jazz but at the same time drew a fresh audience to the music. Shorter and Zawinul are represented here, Shorter via his composition "Sanctuary," Zawinul by three others: "Pharaoh's Dance," "In a Silent Way" and "Directions." Also on hand is saxophonist David Liebman whose burnished soprano saxophone is heard on "Black Satin," as it was on the original recording of On the Corner, and on Davis' "Yesternow."

Trumpeters Tim Hagans and Clay Jenkins take turns sitting in for Davis, with other solos by Pillow (alto sax, alto flute), trombonist Michael Davis and tenor Luke Norris. The ensemble, it should be noted, is sharp and steady with drummer Jared Schonig underscoring the rhythm in the best Tony Williams / Jack DeJohnette tradition and everyone else in a harmonious groove, bringing out the best in Pillow's meticulous charts. Fans of Davis—especially those who dug his music from the '70s onward—should find much to absorb and appreciate in Electric Miles.

Track Listing

Pharoah’s Dance; Bitches Brew; Black Satin; In A Silent Way; Directions; Sanctuary; Yesternow; Spanish Key.


Charles Pillow

Charles Pillow: arranger, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute, alto flute; Colin Gordon: alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute; Luke Norris: tenor saxophone, clarinet; CJ Ziarniak: tenor saxophone; Karl Stabnau: bass clarinet; Michael Davis: trombone; Abe Nouri: trombone; Jack Courtright: trombone; Gabe Ramos: bass trombone; Tony Kadleck lead trumpet; Charlie Carr: trumpet; Clay Jenkins: trumpet; Tim Hagans: trumpet; Julian Garvue: electric piano; Chuck Bergeron: electric bass; Mike Forfia: acoustic bass (4, 6); Jared Schonig: drums; David Liebman: soprano saxophone (3, 7).

Album information

Title: Electric Miles | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: MAMA Records



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


Eagle's Point
Chris Potter
Can You Hear It?
Mikko Innanen / Cedric Piromalli / Stefan Pasborg
Elegy for Thelonious
Frank Carlberg Large Ensemble


Jazz Hands
Bob James
London Afrobeat Collective
Light Streams
John Donegan - The Irish Sextet

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.