R+R+Now Live, Dr. Lonnie Smith & Andrian Younge

Joe Dimino By

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
One of the finest recordings released during early 2021 was by R+R+Now Live led by Robert Glasper and Derrick Hodge. From there, we play some catch up looking into the voices and music captured during the 2020 pandemic jazz year. It includes Edward Partyka, Cathlene Pineda, Frank Basile and Stephen Menold. We say good-bye to Joe Miquelon who was one of the nicest jazz musicians and educators in Kansas City. Finally, we wrap up the 693rd Episode of Neon Jazz with the ultra hip tune "Sunshine Superman" with the duo of Lonnie Smith and Mr. Iggy Pop. Enjoy the surprises...


  • R+R=Now "Been on My Mind" R+R=Now Live (Blue Note) 00:00
  • Host talks 3:56
  • Stephen Menold "Not Approved" On the Night Bus (Stephen Menold) 6:32
  • Ed Partyka Jazz Orchestra "It's The Peace That Deafens" Kopfkino (Mons Records) 10:43
  • Host talks 17:49
  • Adrian Younge "The March on America" The American Negro (Jazz Is Dead) 41:00
  • Frank Basile Sextet "What is This" Joy Road Volume 3 (Motema Music, LLC) 43:26
  • Host talks 48:07
  • Brian Lawrence and The Quaglino Quintet "Tiger Rag" Classics (The Jazz Beats) 48:59
  • Host talks 50:23
  • Dr. Lonnie Smith Featuring Iggy Pop "Sunshine Superman" Breathe (Blue Note) 51:08

Post a comment


View events near Kansas City
Jazz Near Kansas City
Events Guide | Venue Guide | Get App | More...

Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.