Josh Deakin By

Sign in to view read count
BRAHIM! Band's debut album BRAHIM! is an eclectic blend of jazz fusion, rhythm and blues, and hip-hop influenced rhyming schemes. The melodies that flow through this record stand out as a beautiful fusion compositions that borrows from several different genres of music.

The opening track, "Indescribable Feeling," starts with a slow build that grows into an insane cacophony of drumming by Matt Bent and Eric Metzgar. The intense drumming slowly fades into a pocket to lete tenor saxophone Luke Norris show through and blend with the vocal melody provided by singer Abe Nouri. The vocals slide back to allow a rapping verse from the group's second vocalist, Gary Lamaar.

"Jerry," a highlight on the on the album, takes the release to the next level in terms of complexity and creativity, providing progressive nodes to what BRAHIM! Band have already established as their sound. There are hints of King Crimson and Yes in the instrumental work, but the highlight of the track is the turntable work by Gary Lamaar. The scratching created by the turntable in an interesting choice and a big risk for a jazz record, but it absolutely works for BRAHIM!

"Lonely Side" could easily have been a Pink Floyd song on some of their more ambient releases. Nouri croons over the atmospheric melody beautifully and makes the song stand out on the record. The next track, "An Agreed Upon Evil," changes pace with a foot-stomping drum beat and a rap delivered in more of a spoken-word manner that drives the song firward. The track is reminiscent of A Tribe Called Quest in its jazz and hip-hop fusion. While this is BRAHIM! Band's first record, it is a strong effort that stands out as a unique release. They took several risks incorporating hip-hop elements and they made each risk turn out in their favor.

Track Listing

Indescribable Feeling; Jerry; Fuck Biking; Lonely Side; An Agreed Upon Evil; Joseph.


BRAHIM Band: band/orchestra; Abe Nouri: voice / vocals; Gary Lamaar: voice / vocals; Luke Norris: saxophone; Andrew Links: synthesizer; Sterling Cozza: piano; Tyrone Allen II: bass, electric; Matt Bent: drums; Eric Metzgar: drums.

Additional Instrumentation

Abe Nouri: trombone, composer on all songs except "Fuck Biking", lyricist on all sung vocals except "Fuck Biking"; Gary Lamaar: turntables, lyricist on all raps; Andrew Links: organ, vocoder; Sterling Cozza: keyboards; Tyrone Allen II: synth bass, composer and lyricist for "Fuck Biking"; Andrew Cavaciuti: engineer, mixing; Colin Girod: mastering; Robert Gravelin: artwork

Album information

Title: BRAHIM! | Year Released: 2021 | Record Label: Self Produced

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


Secret Suite
Nick Lombardelli
The One And The Other
Lara Solnicki
Flatbosc & Cautery
Frank Gratkowski, Achim Kaufmann, Wilbert de...
Shuffling Ivories
Roberto Magris
Steven Feifke Big Band
Sogni D’oro
Berlin Mallet Group
Light as a Word
Remy Le Boeuf
Love is the Key
Sue Maskaleris


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.