Never Weather: Blissonance

Jerome Wilson By

Sign in to view read count
Never Weather: Blissonance
Drummer and vibraphonist Dillon Vado is a Bay Area musician whose group, Never Weather, has produced a debut CD that shows a lot of versatility. The band uses a lineup that features, trumpet, saxophone and guitar to create music full of sudden twists and that sometimes straddles the line between jazz and rock.

Guitarist Justin Rock, saxophonist Aaron Wolf and trumpeter Josh D. Reed make a forceful and springy front line that delivers a punchy unison charge on "Never Catch Up." Rock is an important component of the group who adds texture and weight to the horn players and drive to the rhythm section. His chugging chords keep the African rhythm of "There Is No Secret" moving and on "Always Settling" and "Bring Back The Color" he plays relaxed but steely lines for Wolf and Reed to wrap around. Both horns solo with slow-motion passion on "Settling" but on "Color" Wolf takes the lead, serenading and screaming on his tenor through winding trails laid down by the rhythm section.

"Blissonance" unfolds with the measured grace of a Paul Motian composition. Vado's brushwork sets up an atmospheric blend of drawling guitar lines and long horn notes, before the piece suddenly shifts to a crisper and faster beat with Reed pealing and spurting before Rock's guitar returns at the slower pace, spinning out spectral blues. "Mask" has a similar subdued and melancholic feel as Wolf and Reed play with wistful introspection against Rock's lightly traced strums. The tempo finally picks up on Reed's trumpet feature, "Morbique." He energetically weaves in and out of Harlow's and Vado's playing at a quickened pace as Wolf and Rock make occasional sympathetic comments.

There are several short pieces mixed in with the longer ones. Most are basically fragmentary sketches featuring different members of the group but the last is a lively two minute version of Thelonious Monk's "Introspection," played with the band's customary mix of tempos, that features everyone.

Never Weather is a group that has fashioned a type of progressive jazz with rock influences that can change direction and tempo within the same song and make the shifts sound natural instead of abrupt or mechanical. They are worth paying attention to.

Track Listing

Never Catch Up; Transient; Mask; There is No Secret; Resolute; Blissonance; Medium; Always Setting; No Grasp; Morbique; Bring Back the Color; Introspection.


Dillon Vado: drums; Aaron Wolf: saxophone; Josh D. Reed: trumpet; Tyler Harlow: bass; Justin Rock: guitar.

Album information

Title: Blissonance | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Ridgeway Records

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon



All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.