Bill Evans & Frank Kimbrough

Joe Dimino BY

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
We set a peaceful tone with the first track on the first episode of 2021 with Bill Evans and the iconic tune "Peace Piece." The 682nd Episode continues to profile the voices and new music that has been released during the 2020 pandemic. The music includes Marcus Printup, Monika Hoffman, Seth Trachy and Trish Clowes. We say good-bye to the great pianist Frank Kimbrough. Finally we play music off the new Disney movie Soul featuring Jon Batiste. Cheers to 2021!


  • Bill Evans "Peace Piece" Everyone Digs Bill Evans (Riverside) 00:00
  • Host talks 6:55
  • Horace Silver "Peace" Blowin' the Blues Away (Blue Note Records) 8:13
  • Marcus Printup "Black Bossa" Lost (SteepleChase) 14:13
  • Host talks 20:18
  • Ellis Marsalis "Squatty Roo" Dark in Blue (Columbia) 21:45
  • Monika Hoffman "First Time" Ten Muses (mochermusic) 24:16
  • Host talks 28:39
  • Neil Swainson Quintet "Port of Spain" 49th Parallel (Concord) 29:55
  • Seth Trachy "JoJo Yelli" Zygmon (Ropeadope) 35:14
  • Host talks 40:23
  • Frank Kimbrough "Centering" Lullabluebye (Palmetto Records) 50:58
  • Host talks 54:24
  • Blank Tape Tax "Hey Donnie" Single (Detroit New Records) 55:10

Post a comment


View events near Kansas City
Jazz Near Kansas City
Events Guide | Venue Guide | Local Businesses | More...

Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Chico Hamilton: The Master
Read Wayne Shorter: An Essential Top Ten Albums
Read John Clayton: Career Reflections

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.