Home » Musicians » Discography » Flicker Down

Flicker Down

Flicker Down by Waxwing
buy album


Label: Songlines Recordings
Released: 2021
Duration: 00:55:15
Views: 306

Track Listing

Flicker Down; On This Day; Fweeo Walks By; Your Bet; Time Waited; A Day’s Life; Montbretia Gates; Highway of Tears; Birds in Cages; Crossing Paths; Joe’s Theme; Breathe; Invisible Something; Just Saying; Cloaks of Coax; Peace for Animeek; Chasing the End; Parasitic


Jon Bentley
saxophone, tenor
Tony Wilson

Album Description

Following on their previous Songlines release, A Bowl of Sixty Taxidermists (2015), Vancouver’s premier chamber jazz trio Waxwing (formed in 2006) returns with a flowing program of compositions and improvisations that again combines delicacy and strength, melodic beauty and textural sophistication. Theirs is a reflective kind of lyricism, often tinged with tenderness or nostalgia, but be prepared for the unexpected as pieces move though different forms and emotional states.


Album uploaded by Jon Bentley


Post a comment about this album

Shop Amazon

Album Reviews

Montreal Jazz Trio
Montreal Jazz Trio
Sounds Good
Fryderyk HD
Prim and Primal
Adam Nolan
Boxed In
Daniel Casimir
Family Plan
Family Plan
What to Wear in the Dark
Kate McGarry + Keith Ganz Ensemble
Mirror Mirror
Eliane Elias

Song of the Day

Promise of Return
Lena Bloch
Turn Over
Giuseppe Millaci
My One and Only Love
Montreal Jazz Trio
Piotr Scholz

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.