Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Eamon Dilworth: Viata

Karl Ackermann By

Sign in to view read count
From its Romanian orgin, Viata translates to "Life." It is the new, independently produced album from Eamon Dilworth and his nameless quintet. Trumpeter Dilworth is not well-known in the U.S. but has received numerous awards in his native Australia. He has studied with some top brass talent including Lew Soloff, Ambrose Akinmusire, Dave Douglas and Avishai Cohen, and has recorded two previous albums as a leader/co-leader.

Pianist Alister Spence is the most recognizable member of the group, having recorded with saxophonist Raymond MacDonald and Myra Melford. In 2018, Spence was part of Satoko Fujii's Kira Kira project on Bright Force (Libra Records). Bassist Jonathan Zwartz won "Best Jazz Album" from the Australian Recording Industry Association for his The Remembering & Forgetting of the Air (Self-produced, 2013). Guitarist Carl Morgan performed throughout Australia with artists including Chris Potter, Jim McNeely, and Charlie Watts. Paul Derricott is a Sydney based drummer who has played regularly with the leader in his group, The Dilworths.

Viata is a moody collection of compact pieces—all original Dilworth compositions. The album opens with "A Love Affair"; a quiet, classically influenced duet between Dilworth and Spence, it nicely sets up the larger group for the darkly brooding "Discomfort." The latter piece features fine solo guitar from Morgan. It's not clear if Norwegian trumpeter Mathias Eick is the inspiration behind "Eick"—the longest piece on Viata—but one could certainly make that case upon listening.

During the course of the album Dilworth moves through opaque shades of ether such as on "Prelude Dreamtime" with its variable waves of wistfulness and the spare "Toran," playing to minimal and languorous qualities. Dilworth's compositions are open books that ebb and flow with the collective mood. The outcome of his reflective and mystical notions is a beautiful album that should bring some well-deserved recognition.

Track Listing: A Love Affair; Discomfort; Eick; Prelude to a Secret; The Hiding; Hey Ma Durga; Prelude Dreamtime; The Lady; Toran.

Personnel: Eamon Dilworth: trumpet; Alister Spence: piano; Jonathan Zwartz: double bass; Carl Morgan: guitar; Paul Derricott: drums.

Title: Viata | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Self Released



comments powered by Disqus


Start your shopping here and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Infection In The Sentence Album Reviews
Infection In The Sentence
By Chris May
February 18, 2019
Read Real Isn't Real Album Reviews
Real Isn't Real
By Phil Barnes
February 18, 2019
Read Citizen Album Reviews
By Roger Farbey
February 18, 2019
Read Rosa Parks: Pure Love. An Oratorio of Seven Songs Album Reviews
Rosa Parks: Pure Love. An Oratorio of Seven Songs
By Doug Hall
February 18, 2019
Read Narrow Escape Album Reviews
Narrow Escape
By Roger Farbey
February 18, 2019
Read The Gleaners Album Reviews
The Gleaners
By Karl Ackermann
February 17, 2019
Read God Is Not A Terrorist Album Reviews
God Is Not A Terrorist
By Chris May
February 17, 2019