Makaya McCraven: Universal Beings E&F Sides

Chris May By

Sign in to view read count
Makaya McCraven: Universal Beings E&F Sides
Universal Beings E&F Sides is an addendum to drummer and producer Makaya McCraven's paradigm-shifting underground hit Universal Beings (International Anthem, 2018). That album was a double (four sides: A, B, C and D). The new album is a single (two sides: E and F). Geddit?

Most, but not all, of the tracks on E&F Sides were recorded at the same sessions as the first album, in London, Chicago, New York and Los Angeles. Featured musicians include young London lions tenor saxophonists Shabaka Hutchings and Nubya Garcia, keyboard player Kamaal Williams and bassist Daniel Casimir, along with US fellow travellers including harpist Brandee Younger, cellist Tomeka Reid, vibraphonist Joel Ross and guitarist Jeff Parker. Two tracks feature saxophonist Soweto Kinch, one of the pathfinders for the new London jazz scene and its engagement with issues of identity and cultural inclusiveness.

These musicians and their peers comprise an informal international alliance which is shaping a new jazz aesthetic, rooted in the tradition but reaching out beyond it. It is the sound of jazz renewing itself, staying relevant and avoiding becoming a repertoire-based museum piece. The grooves are deep and the improvisations fly high and the spirit of trailblazing labels such as Impulse! and Strata-East live on within it. It is not to be missed. Actually, it cannot be missed—it is coming down the road regardless. It is a total blast.

Universal Beings E&F Sides is being released digitally in July 2020 and on CD and LP in September. The album forms the soundtrack for Mark Pallman's documentary Universal Beings, which follows McCraven to London, Chicago, New York and Los Angeles while he was recording the project. Check the doc's "Strangers In The City" extracts in the YouTube trailer below.

Track Listing

Everybody Cool; Half Steppin'; Mak Attack; The Hunt; Beat Science; Dadada; Isms; Traveling Space; Kings and Queens; The Loneliness; Her Name; Universal Beings Pt 2; Butterss Fly; The Way Home.


Makaya McCraven: drums.

Collective Personnel: Shabaka Hutchings: tenor saxophone; Nubya Garcia: tenor saxophone; Soweto Kinch: saxophones; Josh Jonson: alto saxophone; Kamaal Williams: keyboards; Ashley Henry: Fender Rhodes; Brandee Younger: harp; Joel Ross: vibraphone; Joe Parker: guitar; Miguel Atwood-Ferguson: violin; Tomeka Reid: cello; Daniel Casimir: double bass; Dezron Douglass: double bass; Anna Butterss: double bass; Junius Paul: double bass, percussion; Carlos Nino: percussion.

Album information

Title: Universal Beings E&F Sides | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: International Anthem Recording Company

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


Read Freya
Tineke Postma
Read Unearth
New Hermitage
Read Deep Resonance
Deep Resonance
Ivo Perelman
Read Sun Trance
Sun Trance
Markus Reuter
Read Lies
Clemens Kuratle Murmullo
Read Prism
Conference Call
Read Palo Alto
Palo Alto
Thelonious Monk

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.