Home » Jazz Articles » Devin Sinha: The Seventh Season

Album Review

Devin Sinha: The Seventh Season


Sign in to view read count
Devin Sinha: The Seventh Season
A resident of Seattle, WA, singer/songwriter Devin Sinha's Midwestern upbringing casts a folkish muse, paralleled by the rustic album cover artwork illustrating a wheat field and weather worn fence. But Sinha incorporates a touch of the forever hip Pacific Northwest Indie rock panorama as he poses an articulate view of life's experiences, here on his second solo outing.

Sinha's straight-forward delivery integrated with yearning melodic overtones project an aura that he's lived the life portrayed via the lyrics and adds a believability quotient to the grand scope of matters. He's an up-tempo crooner and instills gritty electric guitar phrasings into the acoustic-electro production. On "Winter Child" dreamy background vocals, impassioned acoustic strumming, and a whispery motif atop a temperate rock groove underscore the leader's resonant and heartfelt singing. Nonetheless, it's a highly musical album and not stark, dry or overly cerebral.

"Wanderers" offers a contemporary view of bluegrass amid Miranda Rae's streaming violin passages, while "Out Of Love," is framed on Sinha's twangy guitar chords above a slow rock groove about falling out of love and moving on. And the final track "Home," is another leisurely placed rock piece, shaped with drifting qualities followed by a zesty closeout, featuring Rae and Sophie Mei's complementing background vocal choruses. Moreover, Sinha fuses a probing tale interfacing nature and other aspects, but having second thoughts about leaving his home on the prairie for what appears to be life on the West Coast. Therefore, his rather inviting sense of realism and relatable depiction of life's twists and turns are vividly contrasted by a synthesis of hope and good will. And it's supplemented by an overall musical platform that tends to grow on you after a few preliminary listens.

Track Listing

Ripcord; Lone Elm Road; Winter Child; Orion; The Sigh of the Sea; Rain Song; Wanderers; Whippoorwill Winter; The Wolves; Out of Love; Home.


Devin Sinha: acoustic guitar and lead vocals; Miranda Rae: violin, backing vocals; Sophie Mei: backing vocals; Additional instrumentation performed by Dylan Fant.

Album information

Title: The Seventh Season | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: Self Produced

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Post a comment about this album



Times Like These
Nica Carrington
Existential Moments
Joe McPhee / John Edwards / Klaus Kugel
Albare & Co.


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.