Home » Jazz Articles » The Relay: The Relay


Album Review

The Relay: The Relay


Sign in to view read count
The Relay: The Relay
Artistic cooperation and cohesion are evident from the first notes of The Relay's eponymous debut. With saxophonist Dan Pratt's "Four for," the composer and pianist Michael Eckroth— this quartet's co-leaders—sync up with a bright and fragmented melody line which seeds overlapping solos that sprout when bassist Matt Clohesy and drummer Allan Mednard enter the picture. Referencing a collective chemistry in both sound and name, that engaging opener sets the stage for a program that's pure magic.

The eight songs that follow further demonstrate the simpatico relationships which are central to this outfit. With Pratt's blues-based "One Right," Clohesy's minute-long intro segues into a foundational riff, Eckroth's glistening solo stands in contrast to Pratt's heated blowing, and all four parties punch and punctuate as a single entity. Then the pianist's pen takes hold for a spell as the quartet leans into every well-formed bend and curve of "Road Traveled," cedes control to divine providence and surrenders to the call of pure passion during "Spirit Walk," and works with bossa-esque grace with "Lost in Brazil."

Save for a classy and charming trip through "Polka Dots and Moonbeams" which arrives late in the game, originals remain the order of the day for The Relay. Pratt's chipper "Song of Babes" offers a bright slice of life with its samba-like sensibilities and occasional looks into other sunny territories. "Anabell's Ballad"— Eckroth's tribute to his wife— trades in haunting beauty. And the pianist's "Novo Sete" plays to its name with its odd-metered flow and yearning for new truths. While this is only the beginning for this band, it's clearly the start of something big. Sparks fly on this first flight and there's little doubt that they'll yield fire in The Relay's future.

Track Listing

Four For; One Right; Road Traveled; Spirit Walk; Lost in Brazil; Song of Babes; Polka Dots and Moonbeams; Anabell's Ballad; Novo Sete.


Dan Pratt: saxophone; Mike Eckroth: piano; Matt Clohesy: bass; Allan Mednard: drums.

Album information

Title: The Relay | Year Released: 2022 | Record Label: Same Island Music

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.




On the record

Vibes on a Breath
Ted Piltzecker
Jonathan Karrant
Brazilian Match
Luiz Millan
Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.