Dave O’Higgins Trio + Max Ionata: Tenors Of Our Time

Roger Farbey By

Sign in to view read count
Tenors Of Our Time was recorded on 14 May 2018 "live" with all the musicians in the same room and no headphones. Leader, tenorist Dave O'Higgins may have originally taken as a template for this album the team-up of Sonny Stitt and Sonny Rollins on the 1959 album Sonny Side Up (Verve) from where Stitt's boppy track "The Eternal Triangle" is gleaned. But this particular tenor saxophone pairing emanated from the Rochester Jazz Festival in New York when O'Higgins played his set with Italian drummer Luca Santaniello. From there it seemed a natural extension to record with Santaniello and his fellow countryman, the tenor saxophonist Max Ionata. The quartet was completed with the addition of British organist supremo Ross Stanley.

From the very opening, the memorable "Fourplay" signposts that this is a very classy hard bop set comprising mostly originals with a couple of exceptions. There's Stitt's number of course and Gorni Kramer's bossa nova "Donna" is given an irresistible makeover. O'Higgins' compositional ability is equal to his muscular playing as evidenced by numbers such as "Song For Cape Town," "The Enigma Of The Day" or the slinky, spiralling "You're Nicked" which all benefit from ineluctable heads. Ionata's two tunes, the relaxed "Rainy Day" and the hauntingly themed "Satosong" are excellent too.

Whether it's in the individual solos or when the two saxophonists play in unison or harmony the tracks all swing like crazy. Plus Stanley's biting- toned Hammond organ contributions are positively smoking, proving right now he's probably the best jazz organist in Britain. Additionally, Santanillo demonstrates that he's not merely a timekeeper but rather that he's a powerhouse drummer who motors the whole album along with deftness and subtle precision. Whilst the ten compositions here are not of a ground-breaking nature (nor are they intended to be), the unifying factor is one of a strong, hummable melody which, sadly, seems to be something of an overlooked quality in jazz these days.

Track Listing: Fourplay; Satosong; Lady Face; Donna; Medication; Song For Cape Town; The Eternal Triangle; The Enigma Of The Day; You’re Nicked; Rainy Day.

Personnel: Dave O’Higgins: tenor sax; Max Ionata: tenor sax; Ross Stanley: Hammond organ; Luca Santaniello: drums.

Title: Tenors Of Our Time | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Albore Jazz



comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Album Reviews
Read more articles
Tenors Of Our Time

Tenors Of Our Time

Albore Jazz

It's Always 9.30 In Zog

It's Always 9.30 In...

Jgv Productions C/o Discovery Records Ltd


Related Articles

Read Avec le temps Album Reviews
Avec le temps
By Mark Sullivan
April 23, 2019
Read Snaketime: The Music Of Moondog Album Reviews
Snaketime: The Music Of Moondog
By Mark Corroto
April 23, 2019
Read Requiem for a New York Slice Album Reviews
Requiem for a New York Slice
By Mark Corroto
April 23, 2019
Read Trion Album Reviews
By Dan McClenaghan
April 22, 2019
Read LE10 18-05 Album Reviews
LE10 18-05
By Jakob Baekgaard
April 22, 2019
Read After the Rain: A Night for Coltrane Album Reviews
After the Rain: A Night for Coltrane
By Jakob Baekgaard
April 21, 2019
Read Cadillac Turns Album Reviews
Cadillac Turns
By Troy Dostert
April 21, 2019