Home » Search Center » Results: Declaration

Results for "Declaration"

Advanced search options



Label: Sunnyside Records
Released: 2009
Track listing: M; Fat Cat; Declaration; Uppercut; Rock Me; Jeanina; 2nd Hour; Late Night Gospel.


Article: Album Review

Donny McCaslin: Declaration

Read "Declaration" reviewed by Tom Greenland

Declaration is tenor saxophonist Donny McCaslin's eighth solo effort, a compilation of original compositions and arrangements featuring a three- to five-horn brass section including trumpets, trombones, French horn and tuba. With Edward Simon (piano/organ), Ben Monder (guitar), Scott Colley (bass) and Antonio Sanchez (drums) making up the core band, the result is a far denser sound ...


Article: Album Review

Donny McCaslin: Declaration

Read "Declaration" reviewed by Troy Collins

Venturing into unexplored territory, New York-based tenor saxophonist Donny McCaslin's third recording for Sunnyside Records is a marked departure from his previous release, the stripped-down trio session Recommended Tools (Greenleaf, 2008). Augmenting his working ensemble with an understated brass section, Declaration showcases McCaslin's stellar skills as an improviser while demonstrating his mettle as a burgeoning writer ...


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.