Ramiro Pinheiro: Sentido

Hrayr Attarian BY

Sign in to view read count
Ramiro Pinheiro: Sentido
On his charming debut, Sentido, accomplished guitarist Ramiro Pinheiro demonstrates that he is also an exciting composer and songwriter. The Sāo Paulo native, now based in Barcelona, has crafted an effervescent batch of originals for this enchanting album which he interprets with his quartet and several guest musicians. The release is traditional Brazilian jazz delivered with a modern flair and reserved spontaneity.

The breezy "Quatro Ventos" opens with Pinheiro's sparkling strings over drummer Nicolás Correa's rustling beats and bassist Horacio Fumero's agile lines. Clarinetist Gabriel Amargant takes a brief and lyrical solo followed by a lighthearted duet with Pinheiro. The band returns to the main theme with effortless fluidity.

Another guitarist, Rodrigo Bezerra, joins Pinheiro on "Sabor de Madrugada," a song the pair co-wrote. Bezerra and Pinheiro elegantly frame vocalist Marina Robiero's sensual singing. The tune also features young trombonist Rita Payés, who contributes a lithe performance marked by her pillowy tone.

Another horn player, trumpeter Alvar Monfort, appears on "Pr'um Samba," one of the two covers on this record. Penned by multi- instrumentalist Egberto Gismonti, the music sashays with grace and mesmerizing lines. Monfort's clear, burnished sound complements vocalist Ana Rossi's emotive rendition. Pinheiro leads the rhythm trio with subtlety and understated passion, buoying Rossi and Monfort's respective turns in the spotlight.

The folksy "Baiao de Longe" features the flittering flute of Pablo Gimenez, the fourth member of Pinheiro's core ensemble. Gimenez embellishes the bittersweet melody with poise and dexterity. In addition accordionist Pedro Bastos, with his resonant phrases, contributes a uniquely intriguing dimension to this lovely piece.

The enjoyable, Sentido is a well-balanced amalgam of inventiveness and accessibility. Pinheiro pays homage to his roots through reinventing the traditional motifs without wandering far. Thus he has successfully created a work that is simultaneously conventional and refreshingly contemporary.

Track Listing

Tracklist: Quatro Ventos; Viagem Nova; Sabor De Madrrugada; Nascue Pra Navegar; Chore Do Porta; Pr'um Samba; Tutu; Baiao De Longe; Triste.


Ramiro Pinheiro: guitar; Horacio Fumero: bass, acoustic; Nicolás Correa: drums; Gabriel Amargant: saxophone, tenor.

Additional Instrumentation

Ramiro Pinheiro: acoustic guitar; Horacio Fumero: double bass; Rodrigo Balduino: electric bass; Nicolas Correa: drums; Pablo Giménez: flute (4, 5, 7, 8); Gabriel Amargant: clarinet (1); Hugo Arán: vocals (2): Rita Payés: trombone (3); Rodrigo Bezerra: electric guitar (3);Marina Ribeiro: vocals (3); Edi Barcelo: vocals (4); Crá Rosa: percussion (4); Ana Rossi: vocals (6);Àlvar Monfort: trumpet (6); Pedro Bastos: accordion (8); Ed Moreira: percussion (8); Pablo Selnik: flute (9).

Album information

Title: Sentido | Year Released: 2021 | Record Label: Fresh Sound Records

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


This Land
Theo Bleckmann & The Westerlies
Trust Me
Gerry Eastman Trio
Matthew Stevens
Borderlands Trio: Stephan Crump / Kris Davis /...
Kinds of Love
Renee Rosnes
The Biscodini Organ Trio
In Our Time
Victor Gould
Someday, Something
Rebecca DuMaine


Terence Blanchard featuring The E-Collective
The Garden
Rachel Eckroth
Time Frames
Michael Waldrop

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.