Sun Ra Arkestra: Seductive Fantasy

Ian Patterson By

Sign in to view read count
Track review of "Seductive Fantasy"

Sun Ra Arkestra: Seductive Fantasy
It seems entirely fitting that "Seductive Fantasy," the single from the Sun Ra Arkestra's first studio album in twenty years, should be a reworking of an old song, one that dates back over forty years to On Jupiter (El Saturn, 1979). With Sun Ra it was ever thus; old is new and new is old. The original "Seductive Fantasy" was a sprawling, seventeen-minute affair that morphed from loose groove and extended soloing into increasingly abstract, and almost arrhythmic terrain. Significantly shorter at just under eleven minutes, the new version is more consistent in structure, and more of a psychedelic trip.

Baritone saxophonist Danny Ray Thompson and bassist Tyler Mitchell's three-note unison motif exerts a hypnotic groove that never lets up. A rich chorus of Duke Ellington-esque horns, percolating percussion, piano glissandi and sci-fi effects underpin a succession of solos. Alto saxophonist—and Arkestra leader—Marshall Allen squeals ecstatically over gloriously riffing horns. Vincent Chancey pursues a more melodious course on French horn, while pianist Farid Barron unleashes a torrent of tumbling lines, flitting between bluesy elegance and angularity. The spacey soundscape swells as Allen's EVI and guitarist Dave Hotep's pedals effects come increasingly to the fore.

Vocalist Tara Middleton brings an additional layer of ethereality to the mix with her rap on vibrations and colors, before leading a typical Arkestra call and response. "Oh, the vibration is just a little different here," she intones. Different from 1979 certainly, but wonderfully uplifting all the same. Since this recording, sadly, Danny Ray Thompson—an Arkestra stalwart since 1967—and conguero Atakatune Stanley Morgan, have left this planet. Their vibrations, however, carry on. An alternative, four- minute version of "Seductive Fantasy" features a brilliant, trippy animation by Chad VanGaalen that will delight old heads. The Sun Ra Arkestra marches proudly on.

Track Listing

Seductive Fantasy.


Sun Ra Arkestra: band/orchestra; Marshall Allen: saxophone, alto; Knoel Scott: saxophone, alto; James Stewart: saxophone, tenor; Danny Ray Thompson: saxophone, baritone; Michael Ray: trumpet; Cecil Brooks: trumpet; Vincent Chancey: french horn; Dave Davis: trombone; Farid Barron: piano; Tyler Mitchell: bass; Wayne A. Smith Jr.: drums; Dave Hotep: guitar; Tara Middleton: voice / vocals; Atakatune Stanley Morgan; Elson Nascimento: percussion.

Additional Instrumentation

Marshall Allen: EVI (electronic valve Instrument); Knoel Scott: vocals; James Stewart: flute; Danny Ray Thompson: flute; Michael Ray: vocals; Tara Middleton: violin; Nelson Nascimento: Brazilian surdo drum.

Album information

Title: Seductive Fantasy | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Strut Records

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Monaco, Meurkens, Hoyson, Lucas
J. Peter Schwalm / Markus Reuter
Cool With That
East Axis


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.