Escape Hatch: Roots Of Unity

Roger Farbey By

Sign in to view read count
Tempting though it is to bag Escape Hatch as pianist Ivo Neame's new group, in truth it's more democratic than that; for one thing the majority of the compositions weren't written by him. Two thirds were penned by bassist Andrea Di Biase, who along with drummer Dave Hamblett have regularly accompanied Neame on his recordings such as 2015's Strata. Another reason is that a fair bit of the limelight is taken by guest saxophone virtuoso Julian Arguelles who has been treading the boards professionally for over thirty years and is an erstwhile member of the late-lamented, although recently revived, Loose Tubes big band.

There's a slightly fractured quality to some of the compositions, as diverse sections are meticulously knitted together. The languid beginning to "Hysterical Revisionism" for example, cedes within a few bars to a tightly melodic, labyrinthine section. On "Moonbathing," the staccato opening piano trio section gives way to a saxophone- led, relaxed feel. This mood is maintained with "Today, Tomorrow, Never" here with Arguelles soloing piquantly on soprano saxophone.

Arguelle's presence isn't felt on all tracks though. He's absent on Di Biase's title track, the short "History Repeating," Neame's tranquil "Resignation," "Dust And Moonlight" and "Common Multiple," essentially the final 14 minutes of this recording, which is just under an hour in length. There's a lot of warmth to this album but it's warmer still when Arguelles is contributing. Throughout there's a holistic feel to these compositions, all of which are sensitively imbued with depth and emotion.

Track Listing: Hysterical Revisionism; La Strega; Roots of Unity; Moonbathing; Today, Tomorrow, Never; History Repeating; Resignation; Dust and Moonlight; Common Multiple.

Personnel: Ivo Neame: piano; Andrea Di Biase: bass; Dave Hamblett: drums plus guest Julian Argüelles: saxophones.

Title: Roots Of Unity | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: Whirlwind Recordings Ltd


Related Video

comments powered by Disqus

More Articles

Read A Night Walking Through Mirrors CD/LP/Track Review A Night Walking Through Mirrors
by Barry Witherden
Published: September 21, 2017
Read Jondo CD/LP/Track Review Jondo
by Jack Bowers
Published: September 21, 2017
Read Jazz Flute Traditions CD/LP/Track Review Jazz Flute Traditions
by Roger Farbey
Published: September 21, 2017
Read Nerve Dance CD/LP/Track Review Nerve Dance
by John Sharpe
Published: September 21, 2017
Read Déjà Vu CD/LP/Track Review Déjà Vu
by Troy Dostert
Published: September 20, 2017
Read Woody Guthrie - The Tribute Concerts CD/LP/Track Review Woody Guthrie - The Tribute Concerts
by Jakob Baekgaard
Published: September 20, 2017
Read "Up North" CD/LP/Track Review Up North
by Budd Kopman
Published: February 17, 2017
Read "Bach: Solo Works for Marimba" CD/LP/Track Review Bach: Solo Works for Marimba
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: July 15, 2017
Read "Then and Now" CD/LP/Track Review Then and Now
by Jack Bowers
Published: July 28, 2017
Read "Evolution" CD/LP/Track Review Evolution
by Greg Simmons
Published: April 23, 2017
Read "Subterranea" CD/LP/Track Review Subterranea
by Roger Farbey
Published: October 28, 2016
Read "With You In Mind" CD/LP/Track Review With You In Mind
by Mark E. Gallo
Published: August 12, 2017

Join the staff. Writers Wanted!

Develop a column, write album reviews, cover live shows, or conduct interviews.