Rebecca Nash: Peaceful King

Chris May By

Sign in to view read count
Rebecca Nash: Peaceful King
You can judge a book by its cover, and likewise an album. Sometimes. Too often, striking content fails to follow striking packaging. British keyboard player Rebecca Nash's Peaceful King, however, proves to be as beautiful as its artwork and graphic design. It joins a handful of other more or less recent, promise-fulfilling albums, from which Binker and Moses' Journey To The Mountain Of Forever (Gearbox, 2017), Jon Hassell's Listening To Pictures: Pentimento Volume One (Ndeya, 2018) and Theon Cross' Fyah (Gearbox, 2019) spring to mind. Peaceful King is not quite as immaculately realised as those albums. It is, after all, Nash's own-name debut. But on it, she demonstrates enough clarity of vision to suggest the follow-up may be properly lofty.

Peaceful King actually came out during summer 2019, but somehow slipped under the radar or, more literally, under a pile of other discs. On it, Nash leads her Atlas quintet, augmented on three tracks by singer Sara Colman and trumpeter Nick Walters (here contributing electronics only). The music is an elegant blend of modal jazz, soul jazz, electronica and 1970s fusion with an occasional dash of rock. It is reminiscent at times of British-Bahraini trumpeter Yazz Ahmed's Polyhymnia (Ropeadope, 2019), which was another finely judged mixture of mainly-electric keyboards, electronica and trumpet with, like Peaceful King, one foot in Miles Davis' In A Silent Way (CBS, 1969).

What's not to like? Well, the three with-vocals tracks may not be to everyone's taste. You may find their melodies and Colman's style a bit folksy. Or you may not. Anyway, they do not dominate the tracks in question, much less the album as a whole, and otherwise the disc delivers what it says on the tin (the work, by the way, of Ning-Ning Li and Monika S. Jakubowska).

Track Listing

Peaceful King; Tumbleweed; Hot Wired; Grace; Dreamer; Lokma; Little Light; Inishbofin.


Rebecca Nash: keyboards; Nicholas Malcolm: trumpet; Thomas Seminar Ford: guitar; Chris Mapp: bass; Matt Fisher: drums; Nick Walters: trumpet; Sara Colman: voice / vocals.

Album information

Title: Peaceful King | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Whirlwind Recordings

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


Read When You Find It
When You Find It
Arthur White and Merge
Read Rainbow Baby
Rainbow Baby
Cathlene Pineda
Read An Open Dialogue
An Open Dialogue
Linda Sikhakhane
Read Rah! Rah!
Rah! Rah!
The Claire Daly Band
Read Artlessly Falling
Artlessly Falling
Mary Halvorson's Code Girl
Read Hi-Fly
Howard University Jazz Ensemble
Read And Then It Rained
And Then It Rained
The Michael O'Neill Quartet

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.