Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Dan Rose, Claudine Francois: New Leaves


Dan Rose, Claudine Francois: New Leaves


Sign in to view read count
Dan Rose, Claudine Francois: New Leaves
On New Leaves, their second recording together, longtime friends and sometime colleagues guitarist Dan Rose and pianist Claudine Francois focus their talents on making beautiful music together, a plan whose success is self-evident but whose single-mindedness could leave some listeners wishing for greater variety. That's not meant to berate, as beauty needs no defense, but simply to point out that the music bears an obvious semblance from track to track that even beauty can't fully redeem.

While there are some frisky moments, as on Thelonious Monk's "Monk's Dream" and Horace Silver's "Senor Blues," they are by and large overshadowed by the inclination to place moderation and beauty in the forefront—which in itself is no liability. Rose wrote "The New Leaf" and "Yes I Do," Francois "Le Desert" and "Mr. Slaint," the last dedicated to the late saxophonist Steve Lacy. Completing the program are Steve Swallow's "Ladies in Mercedes," Carla Bley's "Lawns" and Mal Waldron's "The Seagulls of Kristiansund."

After "The New Leaf" (whose melody calls to mind "Autumn Nocturne") opens the album on a calm yet tasteful note, Francois evokes the spirit of Monk with quirky block chords on "Monk's Dream" and lends firm support on "Ladies in Mercedes," as she does on every number. Her "Le Desert" is a delicate ballad, sullied ever so slightly by a barely audible tape hum that recurs from time to time throughout the session. The oft-performed "Senor Blues" is followed by a pair of assuasive ballads, "Lawns" and "Yes I Do," before the mood and tempo quicken slightly on "Mr. Slaint." The session closes with another meditative tone poem, "The Seagulls of Kristiansund."

As beauty and elegance were no doubt the goal, score one for Rose and Francois. New Leaves is awash in those admirable traits. If, however, you are among those listeners who prefer a dash or two of spice to enliven the menu, you'd be better served by looking elsewhere.

Track Listing

The New Leaf; Monk’s Dream; Ladies in Mercedes; Le Desert; Senor Blues; Lawns; Yes I Do; Mr. Slaint; The Seagulls of Kristiansund.


Album information

Title: New Leaves | Year Released: 2021 | Record Label: Ride Symbol



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


Chris Rottmayer
Shimmer Wince
Anna Webber
Being Human
Lynne Arriale


Vijay Iyer
Jazz Hands
Bob James
London Afrobeat Collective

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.